Quinton de Kock is at the centre of controversy after a sly piece of deception brought an end to one of the greatest knocks in one-day international history on Sunday.
Fakhar Zaman's scintillating 193 wasn't enough as Pakistan lost the second ODI against South Africa by 17 runs at The Wanderers.
'STAY SAFE': Sachin Tendulkar in shock hospitalisation
'TRULY AWFUL': Cricket world mercilessly mocks team's new look
But in helping South Africa level the series at 1-1, de Kock sparked controversy with his actions to dismiss Fakhar.
His magnificent innings ended in a bizarre runout when he was tricked into thinking the ball wasn't coming to his end.
As Fakhar was running back to the striker's end to complete a second run, wicketkeeper de Kock pointed to the non-striker's end as if the ball was going there.
Fakhar eased off and started jogging into the crease, only for the ball to hit the stumps at his end and find him short of his ground.
Aiden Markram produced a brilliant direct-hit from the boundary, with Fakhar turning and looking towards the other end when the ball hit the stumps.
Cricket world erupts over controversial dismissal
De Kock appeared to point and laugh at Fakhar's misfortune, but many pointed out that his actions probably shouldn't have been allowed.
Under Law 41.5.1 of the ICC's official rules: “It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball”.
South Africa captain Temba Bavuma appeared to suggest de Kock had acted deliberately.
“It was quite clever from Quinny,” Bavuma said.
“Maybe some people might criticise it for maybe not being in the spirit of the game. But it was an important wicket for us.
"Zaman was getting close to our target. Yeah, it was clever from Quinny.
“You’ve always got to look for ways especially when things are not going your way, got to find ways to turn momentum around.
"Quinny did that – I don’t think he broke the rules in any kind of way. It was a clever piece of cricket.”
However many disagreed.
Fakhar took responsibility for the dismissal, saying he shouldn't have allowed himself to be distracted.
“The fault was mine as I was too busy looking out for (non-striker) Haris Rauf at the other end as I felt he’d started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble,” he said.
“The rest is up to the match referee, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault.”
Fakhar was left to do it all on his own on Sunday as Pakistan reached 9-324 in reply to South Africa's 6-341.
His power-hitting included 18 fours and 10 sixes for the highest-ever score in ODIs in Johannesburg, beating the 175 by Herschelle Gibbs against Australia in 2006.
But Pakistan still fell short as Bavuma, who scored a superb 92 from 102 balls, enjoyed his first victory in his historic role as South Africa's first Black captain .
Fakhar's was the best score ever by a visiting player to South Africa, and what made it even more remarkable was that the next highest contribution in Pakistan's innings was 31 from captain Babar Azam.
Click here to sign up to our newsletter for all the latest and breaking stories from Australia and around the world.