We’d question anyone who could honestly say they’ve ever seen anything like this.
An ATP Challenger match in Kazakhstan has witnessed a truly one-in-a-million moment after a ball landed on the net post and rebounded back into play.
The doubles match-up of Tunisian pair Malek Jaziri and Skander Mansouri v Hunter Reese and Evan King of America came to a complete stop on Wednesday after the strange anomaly.
One of the Americans accidentally sent the ball skyward after shanking a backhand, and it looked destined to land out.
But the ball came down straight on top of the net post (positioned out of play) and rebounded back inside the court.
In or out?
Mansouri reacted quickly and hit the ball back, but the Tunisians lost the point a few shots later.
Jaziri then protested with the umpire over whether the net post was in play or not.
“This is part of the net,” the umpire said, believing the Americans had won the point.
They then called for the tournament supervisor to clarify the ruling.
The video went viral on social media, with fans left stunned and arguing about the rule.
I´ve never seen that— Byron Borges (@ByronBorges) June 12, 2019
Just how we drew it up!— Hunter Reese (@VolReese) June 12, 2019
Well is it in or out?? Surely out because it falls outside the outside tram right???— Brian downey (@Briandowney20) June 12, 2019
In dubs its part of the game. So it counts,— ilan woolley (@ilantennis) June 12, 2019
The most enjoyable thing was the interaction between the players. They were all cool and friendly with each other and this whole discussion lasted for 10 more minutes with the supervisor. Also the Jaziri quote "well this is dubs, I dont know.. I play singles"— ilan woolley (@ilantennis) June 12, 2019
Even more bizarre was the fact that Jaziri and Mansouri retired with sun stroke after losing the first set.