Melbourne Stars coach David Hussey has revealed he would have ordered his side to withdraw their appeal if Adam Zampa's 'Mankad' of Tom Rogers had've been given out. Zampa sparked controversy against the Melbourne Renegades in the BBL on Tuesday night when he attempted to run Rogers out at the non-striker's end.
Zampa whipped off the bails after Rogers left his crease before the ball was bowled, but the third umpire declared it not out. Zampa's arm had gone past the 'vertical', meaning he had completed his delivery and wasn't allowed to attempt a runout at the non-striker's end.
MAJOR CHANGES: BBL cut down in new $1.5b broadcast deal
'WHAT A JOKE': Michael Neser catch sparks BBL controversy
Discussing the incident later, Zampa's coach Hussey said he would have withdrawn the appeal anyway if it was given out. Declaring it “not the right way to play cricket”, Hussey said: “I spoke to Zamps already and he said if it had've been given out, we would have withdrawn our appeal anyway.
“It’s not the right way to play cricket yet it was more of a warning for the batter not to leave too early because at the end of the innings, that’s generally what happens.”
Zampa said he probably wouldn't have followed through with the Mankad if it had've occurred earlier in the innings, but admitted he 'saw red' that Rogers was leaving his crease early. "Tenth over of the game if they're trying to pinch ground then it's probably more of a warning," he said. "So late in the innings with two balls left, even if I Mankad someone and run him out then they've still got wickets in hand ... so it doesn't really make that much difference to the game.
"I was well within my rights to do it. It's in the rule book. It's well within the rules. As you saw, I just got my technique wrong and he was almost halfway down the wicket."
Rogers was unimpressed with Zampa's actions, saying after the game: "I'm a little bit confused by the rule but because it's been flavour of the month for a little while I was probably staying in my crease for a little bit longer than I have in the past. I thought I was going to be ok ... but the umpires are doing a good job and luckily it was not out."
Zampa's runout attempt also seemed to fire up Rogers when he came back out with the ball for the Stars' batting innings. The fast bowler claimed 3-11 in his first two overs as the Renegades reduced their hosts to 4-18. He ended up finishing with figures of 5-16 as the Renegades won by 33 runs.
Cricket world divided over Adam Zampa's actions
Speaking in commentary for Channel 7, Brad Hodge said: “I’m not quite sure exactly why he did it. Because he’s got his opposition in a world of pain, I don’t think Tom Rogers was clearly trying to take an advantage and, regardless of the laws, I don’t like it.
"I don’t like it at all. Particularly when the Renegades were in a pile of trouble anyway. I just don’t think it’s a good look.”
Callum Ferguson added: “It’s not the players’ fault that the rule is what it is. It’s the administrators that have made that call. If you like it, no problems. If you don’t like it, take it up with the administrators.
“I don’t like the law. But it is now a law, so it’s fair game in my eyes, whether I like it or not. If I’ve got a problem with it, I’ve got to take it out with the administrators, not with Adam Zampa, who’s just effecting what he believes is a realistic dismissal in the game.”
"If it had've been given out, we would have withdrawn our appeal anyway" - Stars coach David Hussey on Zampa's Mankad attempt.
📺 Watch #BBL12 on Ch. 501 or stream via @kayosports https://t.co/f2as0D7oW0
✍ BLOG https://t.co/GDr3rF8cXr
📲 MATCH CENTRE https://t.co/hf2T4kSz4I pic.twitter.com/U77dq65M05
— Fox Cricket (@FoxCricket) January 3, 2023
Click here to sign up to our newsletter for all the latest and breaking stories from Australia and around the world.