Adam Zampa copped it from the MCG crowd on Tuesday night after an attempt to run Tom Rogers out at the non-striker's end in the BBL was ruled not out. In what is commonly known as a 'Mankad', Zampa whipped the bails off at the non-striker's end after Rogers left his crease before the ball was bowled.
But because Zampa's arm had gone past the 'vertical' it was deemed he'd finished his delivery and wasn't within his rights to run Rogers out. Boos rained down on Zampa from the MCG crowd, despite the Melbourne Stars captain playing on his home ground.
MAJOR CHANGES: BBL cut down in new $1.5b broadcast deal
'WHAT A JOKE': Michael Neser catch sparks BBL controversy
On-field umpire Gerard Abood sent the decision to the third umpire, who ruled Rogers was not out. Last year the ICC moved to legitimise the 'Mankad' after years of controversy. It is now deemed a run out at the non-striker's end after it was previously under a section in the rule book under 'unfair play'.
But judging by the reaction to Zampa's actions on Tuesday night, the dismissal's place in the game is still heavily divisive. "I was well within my rights to do it," Zampa said after the game. "It's in the rule book. It's well within the rules. As you saw, I just got my technique wrong and he was almost halfway down the wicket."
The Mankad has been a topic of conversation in the cricket world in recent months. Mitchell Starc blasted Theunis de Bruyn for leaving his crease early during the Boxing Day Test at the MCG, but chose to warn him twice rather than run him out.
Not only did Zampa's run out attempt fail, it also seemed to fire Rogers up. The Melbourne Renegades player was seen shaking his head profusely after Zampa's attempt to Mankad him, and decimated the Stars' order when he came back out with the ball in the second innings.
The right-arm paceman claimed 3-11 in his first two overs as the Renegades reduced their hosts to 4-18 in the fifth. He finished with figures of 5-16 as the Renegades won by 33 runs.
"I'm a little bit confused by the rule but because it's been flavour of the month for a little while I was probably staying in my crease for a little bit longer than I have in the past," Rogers said. "I thought I was going to be ok ... but the umpires are doing a good job and luckily it was not out."
Stars coach David Hussey said his team would have withdrawn the appeal if Rogers had been given out, saying: "That's not the way to play cricket." Zampa also said he wouldn't have followed through with a Mankad attempt earlier in the innings.
"Tenth over of the game if they're trying to pinch ground then it's probably more of a warning," he said. "So late in the innings with two balls left, even if I Mankad someone and run him out then they've still got wickets in hand ... so it doesn't really make that much difference to the game."
Cricket world reacts to Adam Zampa Mankad attempt
Speaking in commentary for Fox Sports, Brad Haddin said: “(Zampa) must’ve warned him. I reckon Zampa was dirty from the ball before when Rogers got in and out and got Harvey on strike. Didn’t think we were gonna see it (attempted in the BBL), to be honest.”
Brett Lee added: “If he goes past where he’s meant to let go of the ball there ... it’s deemed you can’t actually Mankad the batsman. Listen, I don’t like that rule, I don’t like the Mankad rule whatsoever, I reckon they should take it out of their hands.
“The best way to do it is to say to the batsman, if you leave your crease, you get docked five runs. Take it away from the bowler ... I just don’t like seeing that in the game of cricket.”
Brad Hodge said on Channel 7: “I’m not quite sure exactly why he did it. Because he’s got his opposition in a world of pain, I don’t think Tom Rogers was clearly trying to take an advantage and, regardless of the laws, I don’t like it.
"I don’t like it at all. Particularly when the Renegades were in a pile of trouble anyway. I just don’t think it’s a good look.”
Callum Ferguson added: “It’s not the players’ fault that the rule is what it is. It’s the administrators that have made that call. If you like it, no problems. If you don’t like it, take it up with the administrators.
“I don’t like the law. But it is now a law, so it’s fair game in my eyes, whether I like it or not. If I’ve got a problem with it, I’ve got to take it out with the administrators, not with Adam Zampa, who’s just effecting what he believes is a realistic dismissal in the game.”
I’m with Zampa. Batsman have been taking the piss for years on this
Should have been given out, and non-striker knew it straight away
— Tom Chadwick (@TomChadwick_7) January 3, 2023
I didn’t know about the arm rotation / Mankad rule until tonight’s Zampa moment. I’ve got no issue with batters being forced to hold their ground. Attempts like tonight will become the norm eventually.
— Tim Gossage 🤓 (@TimGossage) January 3, 2023
We will always remember where we were when Adam Zampa attempted a Mankad in the BBL derby.
— Daniel Cherny (@DanielCherny) January 3, 2023
Short-term pain for Zampa who will lose a bit of paint online (and won't care in the slightest, he's a big boy) but good for the game as this will help educate millions on how the law works in relation to the expected point of release. https://t.co/2zdgEl5rEi
— Adam Collins (@collinsadam) January 3, 2023
What is Adam Zampa trying to mankad for then he kicked the stumps over at then end of the innings mate show a bit of sportsmanship
— Kanga (@KangaOt) January 3, 2023
Dear @icc instead of making mankad legal remove it totally & make it 1 run short if batters move out before a ball is bowled. Same like no ball..it shd be no run or 1 run short. Make it simple instread of complicated. Ban Mankad. #mankad #Zampa #Runout
— Sandip (@Solonisko) January 3, 2023
Click here to sign up to our newsletter for all the latest and breaking stories from Australia and around the world.