When does the NRL season start? How do I watch it?

Riley Morgan
Sports Reporter

The rugby league season is fast approaching and excitement is ramping up.

Four major new rules will be brought into affect this season and they will change how your team approaches the 2o2o season.

EXPLAINER: The new NRL rules set to make an impact in 2020

After a turbulent off-season and a controversial NRL ad campaign here is all you need to know before the start of the season:

When does the NRL start?

The rugby league season will kick-off on Thursday 12th March at 8.05pm (AEST).

Rivals the Parramatta Eels and Canterbury Bulldogs will kick-start the year with their grudge match at Bankwest Stadium.

Jordan Rapana of the Raiders dives over the tryline but a forward pass ruled out a try during the 2019 NRL Grand Final match between the Canberra Raiders and the Sydney Roosters at ANZ Stadium on October 06, 2019 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

Defending champions the Roosters will begin their title defence against Penrith at Panthers Stadium on Saturday.

All matches this year will be shown on either Channel Nine, Kayo and Foxtel.

When are the finals?

After 25 rounds, the NRL finals Week 1 will begin on 11 September.

The Grand Final will be held on 4 October at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Luke Keary and Sam Verrills of the Roosters hold aloft the premiership trophy during the Sydney Roosters NRL Grand Final celebrations at Hordern Pavilion on October 07, 2019 in Sydney, Australia. The Rooster beat the Canberra Raiders in last night's Grand Final at ANZ Stadium. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

When and where is State of Origin?

The first match of State of Origin is off to Adelaide this year when the New South Wales Blues and Queensland Maroons clash on 3 June at Adelaide Oval.

Match 2 will be played in Sydney on 21 June.

The final match and potential decider will be at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on 8 July.

You can watch State of Origin on Channel Nine.

Boyd Cordner of the Blues and team mates celebrate with the State of Origin trophy after winning the series and winning game three of the 2019 State of Origin series between the New South Wales Blues and the Queensland Maroons at ANZ Stadium on July 10, 2019 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)