Viral gymnast's controversial move in epic new routine

UCLA gymnast Katelyn Ohashi, who went viral back in January for her electrifying floor routine, has officially done it again.

Ohashi debuted a brand new routine on Sunday at the PAC-12 women’s gymnastics championships in Utah.

The new routine features music only from female artists, including Tina Turner and Janet Jackson — who both featured in the original routine — and Beyoncé.

Katelyn Ohashi is back for more. Image: UCLA/Getty

In a massive change, Ohashi opted to remove music from Michael Jackson (which appeared in her previous routine) after the Finding Neverland documentary was released.

Unsurprisingly, Ohashi absolutely nailed it, scoring another perfect 10 to help UCLA win the Pac-12 championship.

It was her sixth perfect 10 of the season.

“We have all really prepared well and come together. … And we didn’t have to try,” Ohashi said.

“We really do love each other that much, and it was so much fun to be out there with every single one of us.”

Why Ohashi changed

When a single routine makes you one of the most talked-about gymnasts on the planet, it must be hard to turn away from it.

For Ohashi, however, it was something she felt she had to do.

Speaking to ESPN, she admitted the backlash after the Michael Jackson doco sparked her decision.

“Honestly, in the back of my mind it did, because of the platform that I have,” she said.

Katelyn Ohashi is a superstar. (Photo by Katharine Lotze/Getty Images)

“The goal of my routine is pure joy, and after the documentary, not everyone was feeling that way, and you can never discredit someone’s feelings.

“So yes, it was in the back of my mind because my main goal is to find as much joy as possible in this routine.”

It’s worth noting that Ohashi said she was planning to use two floor routines this year, but there’s also probably a good chance she would have made the change regardless.

With Yahoo Sports