Video has emerged of Bernard Tomic’s bizarre display in the final of qualification for the Delray Beach Open.
The controversial Aussie was once again criticised for his poor display against Ernests Gulbis on Sunday, falling at the final hurdle in the qualification tournament with a 6-2 6-0 loss.
‘WILDLY IMPRESSIVE’: Kim Clijsters stuns in 'phenomenal' return to tennis
‘KYRGIOS WOULD BE PROUD’: Youngster booed over underarm serve
Tomic won just three points in the second set, completely capitulating and sparking more accusations of ‘tanking’.
And one extraordinary moment at 0-2 in the second set summed up Tomic’s poor showing perfectly.
With Tomic serving at 0-40, Gulbis hit a short forehand that was called out by the linesman.
However Tomic fessed up and admitted the ball had landed in.
But despite the Aussie hitting the ball back over the net after it was called out, he inexplicably conceded the point and walked off the court.
It looked as thought Tomic was expecting the point to be replayed (which it should have), but showed absolutely no concerns when the chair umpire called the game for Gulbis.
Because Tomic was able to return the ball after the erroneous call, the point should be been replayed.
But Tomic just gave up and walked off the court without a care in the world.
It was the perfect example of why fans described Tomic’s effort as ‘sad’, while news.com labelled the bizarre act ‘disturbing’.
What on earth is umpire doing at 0-40 w Tomic serving at 0*-2 (2nd set)? Gulbis plays drop shot that's called out before Tomic even gets to ball. Clearly a bad call as Tomic says ball is good— Matthew Willis (@MattRacquet) February 16, 2020
Umpire calls the game for Gulbis instead of replaying point❓https://t.co/0vnmcbhCyz
He goes to get more balls from the ballgirl (expecting to replay the point) before the umpire calls the game for Gulbis. The fact that Tomic should have corrected the umpire doesn't excuse the weird call tbh— Matthew Willis (@MattRacquet) February 16, 2020
Yes, you‘re right, sorry! I watched it live and thought that’s what happened but now re-watched it. Bernie didn’t protest because he didn’t seem to care but... what the hell?— Aentschy (@AentschyR) February 16, 2020
Yeah... Hard to believe this was a professional match going by the 2nd set.— Aentschy (@AentschyR) February 16, 2020
Laughable twist as Tomic gets lucky loser spot
As it turns out, Tomic will be one of four Australians in the main draw of the ATP event despite the humiliating loss.
Tomic was beaten in just 53 minutes, however he remains in the ATP 250 tournament after being drawn as the lucky loser to replace Tennys Sandgren, who withdrew due to knee pain.
Tomic will face Cedrik-Marcel Stebe in the first round with the winner taking on either second-seeded Canadian Milos Raonic or Italian veteran Andreas Seppi - the beaten finalist at the New York Open on Sunday.
Nick Kyrgios is the top seed in Delray Beach, as he returns to the tour after he pulled out of the New York Open due to a shoulder ailment.
The 27-year-old Tomic has plummeted to 191st in the world, having been ranked a career-high 17th just four years ago.
Tomic's quickfire loss to Gulbis, in which he won just three points in the second set, is still the second longest of his past five matches.
He endured the second-fastest defeat of his career last week in New York, falling to Japan's Go Soeda 6-2 6-1 in just 39 minutes.
He lost to world No.306 Brandon Nakashima in just 44 minutes in Dallas earlier this month.
That shortest match of Tomic's career is his 28-minute effort in losing 6-0 6-1 to Jarkko Nieminen in 2014.
Tomic just looks miserable atm. Gotta be in a horrible place mentally.— 🐐 (@k1ngkyrgios) February 16, 2020
I thought the first set was easy for Gulbis, but Tomic took tanking to a different level in the second winning just three points. Still lasted 4 minutes longer than usually as doesn't often last longer than 49 mins per match these days pic.twitter.com/jMUFa7ESg9— Chris Goldsmith (@TheTennisTalker) February 16, 2020
He put more effort into drying the lines than he has put into the match so far. https://t.co/2GNx7CzdCL— Aentschy (@AentschyR) February 16, 2020
Yeah. Sad to see... Are you watching? Now that last point? Nice to acknowledge that it was on the line but come on, replay the point, ffs. You were there on time.— Aentschy (@AentschyR) February 16, 2020