Danish youngster Holger Rune has left the tennis world fuming after he won a point on what appeared to be a clear double bounce during his round of 16 win at the French Open. The 20-year-old tennis prodigy is never far away from the headlines and has once again found himself at the ire of the tennis world having defeated Francisco Cerundolo 7-6, 3-6, 6-4, 1-6, 7-6 in a three-hour and 59 minute epic.
But the match was marred after a horror double bounce decision that potentially cost Cerundolo a set. In the fourth game of the third set, the chair umpire missed that the ball had bounced twice when Rune was stretched at the back of the court.
Rune dug the ball out on the second bounce, which looped to Cerundolo for an overhead smash. However, the Argentinian stopped play briefly before putting away the smash.
Incredibly, the umpire called the point in Rune's favour for Cerundolo's hindrance and a ball kid entering the court. Both of these were due to Cerundolo and the ball kid believing the point was over for the clear double bounce.
Instead, the chair umpire pinged Cerundolo for hindrance and he lost the point. The crowd became hostile after a few moments replays showed ball bounced twice. The Eurosport commentators were absolutely baffled at the scenes.
"Oh, my goodness, oh my goodness!" Barry Cowan said. "Controversy here. Lots to pick out in this point. Clearly, it double-bounced. But then also, why is he playing too? Is it because the ball kid moved? I see loads of ball kids move.
There's just no way rune didn't know it was a double bounce. Not a chance. Him not speaking up and not conceding the point is a choice https://t.co/9INp5LYYH2
— NoFirstName claycourtdal (@samstennnis) June 5, 2023
"Well, well, well. The umpire has made a huge mistake here. Would he have known that that was a double-bounce, Rune? Oh, so he penalised Cerundolo? But he didn’t stop, unless he said something, because I’ll see players stop in a point, and then all of a sudden they give them the fake."
Naomi Cavaday was just as confused with the chair umpire's decision. "Oh, no! Maybe it was because Cerundolo stopped playing. A big mistake and it’s so costly! she said. "He stopped before he hit the final shot because there was the double bounce from Rune. He hadn’t picked the ball up."
Tennis fans turn on Holger Rune over double bounce
After the match, Rune admitted he wasn't aware of the double bounce until it was too late. "So when I was hitting the ball, I didn't know, I just ran for it," Rune said after the match. "But then obviously when I saw it, after he did call it, I saw it after the next point on the TV, and I saw it was a double bounce.
"But the point already happened and he called the score. So I felt sorry. Sorry for him (Cerundolo). Then I managed to break him. I held serve. Then after he broke me it was close again."
Tennis fans were not satisfied and accused Rune of 'cheating' because many felt it was an obvious double bounce and the youngster should have conceded the point. Rune has clearly denied the accusations.
I didn’t see the double bounce today on the RUNE match but now i have and OMG how does the umpire miss that and how the hell does Rune look himself in the mirror! Horrendous umpiring and horrendous sportsmanship!
— Rennae Stubbs 🟦👍🏼 (@rennaestubbs) June 6, 2023
That was maybe the worst call I’ve ever seen
Atleast the guy has a sweet voice so worth?
— Tennys Sandgren (@TennysSandgren) June 5, 2023
Rune is really a bad guy sometimes, the ball just bounced twice, he said nothing, won the point and made the break. Bad sportsmanship.
— Heidiction (@heidiction) June 5, 2023
To my mind - by not admitting it to the umpire- Rune is effectively guilty of cheating. My respect for him is gone forever.
— Divinity Mode 🇺🇦 (@jaketennisnut) June 5, 2023
HUGE mistake here changing the course of the 3rd set (and match).
This was on 2-1* 40-40.
Ball bounced twice, Cerundolo stopped but eventually made the smash winner, and Nouni not only didn't see the double bounce but gave gave the point to Rune bc of an 'hindrade'. Horrible https://t.co/LSQ917WbuI
— José Morgado (@josemorgado) June 5, 2023
Cerundolo knows it. The commentator knows it. TV viewers know it.
That was a shocking call from the umpire at a pivotal moment in the match between Rune and Cerundolo.
We need double bounce reviews in tennis ASAP!#RolandGarros
— Tennis Weekly Podcast (@tennisweeklypod) June 5, 2023
Holger Rune deserves criticism for not conceding the double bounce. And he better improve and change in that behavior.
But he earned that victory.
And I hope Francisco Cerundolo holds his head high after the quality and mental perseverance he just demonstrated.
— Tennis In the Park 🇺🇦 (@TennisInthePar1) June 5, 2023
Terrible umpiring. I feel really bad for Cerundolo, as that was a big game. The double bounce was so clear - literally all the the fans saw it (hence the booing), don't know how the umpire didn't. I think Rune should have conceded the point. https://t.co/nXNwmisExz
— Afriyie 👓 (@theafriyie_) June 5, 2023
Double bounce clear as day. Shocking decision by umpire and disgusting sportsmanship from Rune.
— Claire (@ClaireyyM) June 5, 2023
Regardless, Rune was full of praise for his opponent after the match. ”He’s playing amazing, especially on clay,” said Rune. “I think it’s a surface that suits his game very well. He has a big forehand, a big swing.
"So when he gets the time, as we saw when I was [serving] for the match, he hit two forehand winners and he was just too good. So credit to him, he’s a very nice guy and I wish him all the best.”
Rune has now set up a clash with Casper Ruud, another player he has faced a frosty relationship with after a sportsmanship controversy.
Sign up to our newsletter and score the biggest sport stories of the week.