Shane Watson's bombshell move after IPL 2020

·Sports Reporter
·3-min read
Shane Watson is pictured playing for the Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League.
Shane Watson has reportedly announced his retirement from the Indian Premier League, and T20 cricket in general. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Shane Watson has announced he will retire from all forms of cricket, after his Indian Premier League campaign with the Chennai Super Kings came to an end overnight.

The 39-year-old’s decision to retire was reported by The Times of India, with Watson reportedly telling his teammates of his move in the locker room after their final match of the season.

'LOSING THE PLOT': Cummins continues Smith's IPL misery

'EXTRAORDINARY': Vic pair smash 30-year Sheffield Shield record

Watson retired from Test cricket in 2015 but has played T20 cricket since in both the IPL and Big Bash League.

He was memorably the first player to score a century in Test, one-day and T20 formats.

“Watson was very emotional when he told the CSK dressing room after the last game that he would retire,” a source was quoted as saying by The Times.

“He said that it was a great privilege for him to play for the franchise.”

The former Test opener tallied 3874 runs, 92 wickets and 40 catches over the course of his IPL career, according to stats website CricTracker.

Watson also announced his retirement from the BBL at the end last season.

He took to Twitter after his final match for Chennai to thank the franchise and fans for their support over the years.

“A special night last night for all @ChennaiIPL lovers. I know we can’t make the finals this season, but that was such a spirited performance from everyone,” he wrote.

“One more great performance to sign off this season of @IPL,” he wrote.

Dehli Capitals earn IPL playoff spot

Delhi Capitals have qualified for the Indian Premier League playoffs after beating Royal Challengers Bangalore by six wickets.

Delhi ended its four-match losing streak to meet the league-leading Mumbai Indians in the first qualifier on Thursday.

The winner advances to the final, the loser to a playoff eliminator.

Bangalore also sneaked into the four-team playoffs by stretching its bowling to 19 overs to edge Kolkata Knight Riders on better net run-rate in the standings.

Bangalore made 7-152 and Delhi reached 4-154.

Kolkata can qualify only if Sunrisers Hyderabad lose to Mumbai on Tuesday.

Virat Kohli is pictured during a press conference.
Virat Kohli was unable to lift the Royal Challengers Bangalore into the IPL playoffs. (Picture: PAUL ELLIS/AFP via Getty Images)

Bangalore will finish third or fourth and meet Kolkata or Hyderabad in the second qualifier.

The winner will take on the loser of the first qualifier for a place in the final next week.

Fast bowlers Anrich Nortje (3-33) and IPL-leading wicket-taker Kagiso Rabada (2-30) helped to limit Bangalore to an underwhelming 7-152.

Left-handed opener Devdutt Padikkal continued his impressive form and scored 50 off 42 balls to raise his fifth half-century in his first IPL.

Captain Virat Kohli (29) couldn't capitalise on being dropped on 13.

Kohli was caught out by Australian Marcus Stoinis from a delivery by offspinner Ravichandran Ashwin.

With AAP

Click here to sign up to our newsletter for all the latest and breaking stories from Australia and around the world.