Winx and Golden Slipper set to star on Seven

Saturday Arvo Racing heads to Rosehill for the $3.5 million Group 1 Golden Slipper, on the same day Winx aims to make it 16 straight wins.

 

Don't forget you can catch all the action LIVE on Channel 7, 7TWO and streamed on PLUS7.

In the world’s richest race for two year olds, Houtzen is likely to jump favourite in the 1200m sprint despite the wide barrier draw, while Catchy, She Will Reign, Pariah and Frolic are all expected to be in contention at the winning post.

Houtzen is being strongly backed to take out the Golden Slipper. Pic: Getty

Superstar mare Winx also takes to the track on Saturday in the $1 million George Ryder Stakes as raging favourite, aiming for her 16th consecutive win.

Saturday Arvo Racing also comes from Flemington in the form of the Blamey Stakes, where Melbourne trainer Darren Weir's pre-race favourite Black Heart Bart has been scratched.

The Golden Slipper will be hosted by Bruce McAvaney, with expert analysis from Francesca Cumani, and Simon Marshall. Jason Richardson has all the news from the mounting yard with James Jordan delivering form analysis, and Teigan Nash reports on all the colour and characters from around the track.

Champion trainer Peter Moody also joins the team for the next two weeks.

Mighty mare Winx can stretch her unbeaten streak to 16 races. Pic: Getty

As the free-to-air home of thoroughbred horseracing Seven broadcasts every major meeting on the Australian calendar including the Magic Millions, Sydney Easter Carnival, Stradbroke Handicap, Caulfield Cup Carnival, WS Cox Plate, and the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Saturday Arvo Racing
Golden Slipper
Saturday March 18, 2017

Sydney 12pm LIVE on Channel 7
Melbourne 12pm LIVE on Channel 7
Brisbane 11am LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 11.30am LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 9am LIVE on 7TWO, 10am LIVE on Channel 7

feedback