Revealed: The 22 Aussie towns on the new Monopoly board

The Blue Mountains will be one area featured in the new limited edition Monopoly board. (Source: Getty, supplied)
The Blue Mountains will be one area featured in the new limited edition Monopoly board. (Source: Getty, supplied)

A new limited edition Monopoly set will feature 22 Australian communities to raise funds for areas impacted by Covid-19, last year’s summer bushfires, and floods.

The traditional ‘Mayfair’ and ‘Park Lane’ tiles will instead be replaced with recognisable Australian locations such as the Blue Mountains, Mildura, Broken Hill, Noosa, Batemans Bay and Port Arthur, and 16 more.

The ‘Community Chest’ and ‘Chance’ playing cards will also be customised.

(Source: Supplied)
(Source: Supplied)

For every new ‘Australian Community Relief’ Monopoly set sold, $5 will go directly to the Australian Red Cross to provide further assistance to these communities.

Monopoly has also released a puzzle of the playing board, where $2 of each sold will be similarly donated.

(Source: Supplied)
(Source: Supplied)

The aim of the new games was to give Australians something positive from the challenging year of 2020.

“The communities chosen have all gone through a tough time for one reason or another as everyone has in 2020,” said Charlotte Waalkens, from Winning Moves Australia who custom-make the Monopoly boards.

“We thought they deserved something special to remind everyone how incredible they are, and help inject some positive spirit through the Australian Community Relief Monopoly game.”

Choosing just 22 locations to put on the board was “unbelievably difficult”, she said, as there were so many places to choose from and they wanted to highlight lesser-known locations.

“We feel that the Australian Community Relief Monopoly board and puzzle capture the heart of Australia and shine a positive light on regions that otherwise may not normally receive such exposure. We hope it will also bring a bit of much needed joy to Australian families over the holidays.”

Here’s a list of all the communities included on Monopoly's Australian Community Relief board:


  • Belconnen

  • Queanbeyan (ACT / NSW border)


  • Batemans Bay

  • Broken Hill

  • Blue Mountains


  • Mildura

  • Gippsland

Western Australia

  • Kalgoorlie

  • Busselton

  • Karratha


  • Port Arthur

  • Devonport

  • Strahan


  • Bundaberg

  • Noosa

  • Winton

Northern Territory

  • Katherine

  • Tennant Creek

  • Palmerston

South Australia

  • Coober Pedy

  • Mount Gambier

  • Port Augusta

The games, launched Wednesday 25 November, are now available nationally at the following retailers: Big W, Sanity, QBD, Dymocks, Toys R Us, The Iconic, Catch, Meeple, Hobbyco, Mr Toys, The Nile, The Gamesmen, Gameology, Gameshop, and Gamesworld.

The limited edition Australian Community Relief Monopoly board retails for $59.99.

Monopoly’s Australian Community Relief Puzzle retails for $19.99.

Want to hear Australian influencers reveal their best finance tips? Join the Broke Millennials Club on Facebook, and receive one hot tip per day in December.

And if you want 2021 to be your best (financial) year yet, follow Yahoo Finance on Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram and Twitter. Subscribe to the free Fully Briefed daily newsletter here.