Mike Hussey announcement delights cricket world in huge honour before Boxing Day Test

The Aussie star is widely adored around the global cricket community.

Mike Hussey.
Mike Hussey has been announced as the next member of the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame. Image: Getty

Mike Hussey and Lyn Larsen have been announced as the latest inductees into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame. Cricket Australia and the Australian Cricketers' Association announced on Tuesday that Hussey and Larsen will become the 62nd and 63rd inductees into the institution established in 1996.

Hussey played 79 Test matches, making 6235 runs at an average of 51.52. He made 19 centuries and 29 half-centuries at Test level with a top score of 195, and would have played more Tests had he not been around for such a golden generation of Australian cricketers.

'TWO IN A RELATIONSHIP': Mitchell Starc's family move cost him $10 million

'HORRIBLE TO WATCH': Glenn Maxwell caught in 'embarrassing' farce

The West Australian also played 185 one-day internationals for his country, scoring 5442 runs at 48.15. He was a member of the 2007 side that won the ODI World Cup.

"Michael's reputation as 'Mr Cricket' is a solid indication of the impact he had during his career, managing to defy the typical cricketer's journey, selected to make his Test debut at age 30," said Hall of Fame chair Peter King. "His leadership and commitment to the game, to his teammates, and to all of the Australian fans, consolidated his status as one of the greatest Australian batters we have seen."

Marnus Labuschagne and Mike Hussey.
Marnus Labuschagne speaks with Mike Hussey at an Australian cricket training session. (Photo by Paul Kane/Getty Images)

Lyn Larsen to enter Australian Cricket Hall of Fame

Larsen was a long-term captain of the Aussie women's team, with the all-rounder representing her country in Test and limited overs cricket between 1984 and 1994. She played 15 Test matches, making 410 runs at 41. She made three half-centuries with a top score of 86, and also took 26 wickets at 18.73 with best figures of 4-33.

Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley paid tribute to Larsen. He said: "Not only was Lyn a tremendous all-rounder, her exceptional leadership guided the Australian women's team throughout a period of enormous success and set a wonderful example for all those who have followed."

Lyn Larsen, pictured here with the women's Cricket World Cup trophy in 1988.
Lyn Larsen with the women's Cricket World Cup trophy in 1988. (Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images)

The news about Hussey and Larsen sparked a flood of congratulatory messages from around the cricket world. Fans and players alike were delighted at the announcement.

Australian Cricket Hall of Fame members:

  • 1996 - Fred Spofforth, John Blackham, Victor Trumper, Clarrie Grimmett, Bill Ponsford, Sir Donald Bradman, Bill O’Reilly, Keith Miller, Ray Lindwall and Dennis Lillee

  • 2000 - Warwick Armstrong, Neil Harvey and Allan Border

  • 2001 - Bill Woodfull and Arthur Morris

  • 2002 - Stan McCabe and Greg Chappell

  • 2003 - Lindsay Hassett and Ian Chappell

  • 2004 - Hugh Trumble and Alan Davidson

  • 2005 - Clem Hill and Rod Marsh

  • 2006 - Monty Noble and Bob Simpson

  • 2007 - Charles Macartney and Richie Benaud

  • 2008 - George Giffen and Ian Healy

  • 2009 - Steve Waugh

  • 2010 - Bill Lawry and Graham McKenzie

  • 2011 - Mark Taylor and Doug Walters

  • 2012 - Shane Warne

  • 2013 - Charlie Turner and Glenn McGrath

  • 2014 - Mark Waugh and Belinda Clark

  • 2015 - Adam Gilchrist and Jack Ryder

  • 2016 - Jeff Thomson and Wally Grout

  • 2017 - David Boon, Matthew Hayden and Betty Wilson

  • 2018 - Norm O’Neill, Ricky Ponting and Karen Rolton

  • 2019 - Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Dean Jones and Billy Murdoch

  • 2020 - Sharon Tredrea and Craig McDermott

  • 2021 - Johnny Mullagh (Unaarrimin), Merv Hughes and Lisa Sthalekar

  • 2022 - Justin Langer and Raelee Thompson

  • 2023 - Marg Jennings and Ian Redpath

  • 2024 - Mike Hussey and Lyn Larsen

with AAP

Sign up to our newsletter and score the biggest sport stories of the week.