Lando Norris claims maiden F1 win at Miami Grand Prix

McLaren's Lando Norris has stunned champion Max Verstappen at the Miami Grand Prix to take his first-ever Formula One win.

Norris had a stunning restart and defended well against Verstappen after a safety car.

"About time," a delighted Norris said.

"What a race. It's been a long time coming, at last I've been able to do it for my team and deliver for them."

The Dutchman had to settle for an unusual second place, while Charles Leclerc of Ferrari completed the podium in third.

"You win, you lose, we are all used to that in racing. Today was just tricky," Verstappen said.

"I'm happy for Lando, it's been a long time coming and it's not going to be his last one. He deserves it today."

Australia's Oscar Piastri - Norris's McLaren teammate - finished 13th, while Daniel Ricciardo was 15th for RB.

It was McLaren's first win since Monza 2021, when Ricciardo hit the top step.

"I knew on Friday we had the pace," Norris said.

"Today we managed to put it together. We had the perfect strategy.

"I've made a lot of mistakes along the way but today we put it all together."

Verstappen had a perfect start from pole position, but lost his lead after he pitted for new tyres.

The Dutchman had made his way to second behind Norris, who was yet to stop, when the safety car was deployed after Logan Sargeant of Williams had his race ended following a crash with the Haas of Kevin Magnussen.

Norris wasn't able to get to the pits before the safety car was called and went around for another lap, pitting under safety car and retaining his lead.

The English driver then had a fantastic restart to break clear from Verstappen.

He kept stretching his advantage over the Red Bull man, who failed to find an answer.

Verstappen had won four of the previous five races and tops the drivers' standings as he chases a fourth consecutive title.

He will try to restore the status quo at the Emilia Romagna GP in Italy on May 19.


1. Lando Norris (McLaren)

2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

3. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

4. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

5. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

6. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

7. Yuki Tsunoda (RB)

8. George Russell (Mercedes)

9. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)

10. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)