The cricket world has called for the International Cricket Council (ICC) to make an amendment to a rule after the Mumbai Indians were robbed of a run in the Indian Premier League.
Kieron Pollard was at the crease and made his mark with a a blistering 47 off 20 balls against the Kings XI Punjab.
‘NO SENSE’: Disbelief over 'terrible' Steve Smith moment
'BE BETTER’: Cricketer's 'unacceptable' act in celebration photo
But viewers noticed Pollard had his single taken away during a DRS review.
At the end of the 17th over, Mohammed Shami successfully appealed an LBW against the big-hitting Pollard.
But Pollard immediately challenged the LBW.
The challenge was successful as replays showed Pollard got an inside edge on the ball.
But during the chaos, Pollard ran a single.
However, despite not being given out, ICC rules state the ball was deemed dead because the umpire had awarded a decision.
Fans call for ICC to change cricket rule
This prompted former Indian cricketer Aakash Chopra to ask the ICC to change the rule and call for umpires to award close decisions at the end of the play.
He said a single run could end up costing a team a World Cup.
Pollard and #MI denied a single. LBW given. Reviewed. Inside edge confirmed. But the easy run they took won’t count. Dear @ICC, this might cost someone the World Cup someday. Need a rethink. Umpires will have to reserve their decision till the ball is dead. #MIvKXIP— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) October 1, 2020
Fair point Aakash.. 👍👍— W V Raman (@wvraman) October 1, 2020
At the end of 16th over Pollard did cross the crease, although there was a LBW appeal and which was eventually given, later turned down by the third umpire after review. So shouldn't Pollard face the first ball of 17th over instead of Pandya?— শৌনক পোদ্দার। Sounak Poddar🇮🇳 (@PoddarSounak) October 1, 2020
#staraikelungal— Maskodavama (wear mask, protect urselves) (@Venkat281088) October 1, 2020
When a Batsman is given out LBW, many time the decisions are made when the batsman reaches the other end. If DRS overturns such decisions, will the run count?? Did that happen when Pollard was give out? #MIvsKXIP @RJ_Balaji @mukundabhinav @s_badrinath
The suggested rule does make sense, but could create havoc with an umpire allowing play to continue only to award a batsman out when the ball is dead.
ICC rules state: “The batting side, while benefiting from the reversal of the dismissal, shall not benefit from any runs that may subsequently have accrued from the delivery had the on-field umpire originally made a Not-out decision, other than any No-ball penalty".
Click here to sign up to our newsletter for all the latest and breaking stories from Australia and around the world.