Drama erupts after Cameron Smith caught in 'absurd' rules breach
The timing of a bizarre rules breach against Cameron Smith has come under fire from fans, going into the final round of the FedEx St Jude Championship at TPC Southwind.
Smith's hopes of winning the first event in the season-ending FedEx Cup Playoffs were severely dented after he was hit with a two-shot penalty before the final round, for an infringement that occurred a day earlier.
YIKES: Cam Smith's frosty moment with World No.1 after 'disgraceful' act
INTERESTING: LIV Golf levels major Tiger Woods allegation against PGA Tour
UH-OH: LIV Golf contracts under spotlight after damning detail comes to light
Instead of starting the final round two shots behind JJ Spaun, Smith began four strokes back at nine under in a tie for 14th.
The 28-year-old copped the retrospective two-stroke penalty for playing a ball from the wrong place on the fourth hole in round three.
After finding the water on the par-three, Smith took a drop and incorrectly played his third shot with his ball touching a hazard line.
Cameron Smith has been penalized two strokes for improper placement of the ball in the penalty area in Round 3.
He now begins the final round trailing by four.
More on the penalty ⬇️ pic.twitter.com/a1wr2Bqv9R
— PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) August 14, 2022
Officials handed Smith the penalty after the world No.2 admitted that he wasn't aware he could not play the ball with it touching the red line.
Smith was only two shots off the lead and preparing to start his final round when he was informed about the penalty decision by PGA Tour rules official Gary Young.
“(Smith) dropped the ball in that area but it came back to rest against the line and it was at that point he he obviously thought it was okay to play it from that position,” Young said.
“You have to take complete relief from that penalty area.
The timing of the decision to hand Smith a two-shot penalty - more than the decision itself - left fans fuming on social media, with many insisting it should have happened during the Aussie's third round.
Absurdity. At some point, the score is the score and it needs to be final. Start of the fourth round should render the prior day's scores final. https://t.co/eu6PAa7tkH
— No Laying Up (@NoLayingUp) August 14, 2022
Cam Smith just received a 2-shot penalty a day later because of this picture. Didn’t take full relief from the penalty area. Official on ground deemed it in play live.
Had his ball come to rest here in normal play, no penalty. Taking a drop, penalty.
Dumb rule. Dumber timing. pic.twitter.com/4YethbA6Lm
— The Plugged Lie (@PluggedLiePod) August 14, 2022
This Cam Smith penalty is nonsense
— Sports in Five (@sportsinfive) August 14, 2022
Oh no two stroke penalty for Cam Smith played his ball from the wrong spot yesterday this is why I don’t like the PGA my question is why wasn’t this addressed yesterday
— Scott Stewart (STEWIE) (@ScottSt1963) August 14, 2022
Golf does so many things to shoot it’s product in the foot, especially with a direct competitor rising. I know golf is different than other sports where refereeing is concerned but if it’s not a penalty within a reasonable time after the infraction, then the play stands as called
— Kevin Whitlatch (@WhitlatchKevin) August 14, 2022
Young defended the timing of Smith's penalty after admitting that PGA Tour officials had originally overlooked the incident.
“We discussed (this) a little more this morning after someone else on the (rules) committee had seen the broadcast we decided to take a second look at it and should talk to Smith) himself," Young added.
“Cam was a complete gentleman, and he took it that way.
“He was completely calm through the whole process. Once he found out it was a two-stroke penalty, he just said to me, ‘The rules are the rules.’ And you know, in typical casual Cam fashion he just accepted it and left the office.”
Adam Scott on fire in the final round
Adam Scott briefly claimed the clubhouse lead after a four-under-par 66 vaulted him to 11-under, sealing his participation in the next event in the FedEx Cup playoffs - the BMW Championship
Smith, who won his first major championship at last month's 150th British Open at St Andrews, was hoping to replace Scottie Scheffler at the top of the rankings by winning the St Jude after the American missed the halfway cut.
The Australian has been the focus of huge interest all week over reports - which he's chosen to avoid talking about - linking him as the latest player to join Saudi-funded LIV Golf after the FedEx Cup playoffs.
While Scott held the clubhouse lead for about half an hour after his final round, the former No.1 was eventually overtaken by Lucas Glover at 12 under, with several other players also out on the course in front of him.
Still, after starting the day in 77th spot on the FedExCup standings, Scott was projected to soar to 45th, ensuring his place in the 70-player BMW Championship.
Click here to sign up to our newsletter for all the latest and breaking stories from Australia and around the world.