The cricket world and Indian captain Virat Kohli was left absolutely baffled after England captain Joe Root couldn't help but laugh after surviving 'one of the plumbest ever' decisions not to be given out by DRS.
As England were trying to survive on the final over on Day 4 in Chennai, Root was caught in front from the bowling of Axa Patel.
Root appeared to be lazy in playing the shot and the ball caught him on his back pad halfway up the stumps, before it was caught behind by Rishabh Pant.
But the umpire Nitin Menon said not out, believed to be for the caught behind.
This prompted Kohli to immediately send the decision upstairs.
The Decision Review System (DRS) showed the ball clearly missing the bat, but going on to hit the stumps.
But the decision came back downstairs as Umpire's Call, because of the caught behind call, which saved Root.
The decision was made more incredible with replays showing the ball clearly in front of the stumps as it hit the pad, before ball tracking showing the ball rattling off stump.
Kohli was clearly unimpressed and confronted the umpire in disbelief.
He then walked away shaking his head and commentator Nick Knight was also 'flabbergasted' by the decision.
“I can understand why the Indian captain is remonstrating,” Knight said.
“It appeared to me that Joe Root began to withdraw his leg or straighten his back leg and by the time it hit him on his pad, you could see the off stump.
“I’m giving that out all day long. You see the way the knee straightens there, you can see off stump. I’m flabbergasted.
“It’s DRS that’s decided the impact was outside (the line of off stump) but my eyes aren’t as good as the Hawkeye but it just looked as though Joe Root had straightened his leg and it had hit him bang in front of middle and off.”
Cricket world baffled by Root DRS decision
Former players and fans watching were clearly perplexed with the decision with replays exacerbating the problem with a clear shot of off stump in view.
That’s the plumpest LBW I’ve ever seen given not out by DRS. Problem is the DRS went with the umpires call for not out for a caught behind not LBW.
— Mark Waugh (@juniorwaugh349) February 15, 2021
That is a huge issue for DRS. Joe Root was given not out by the umpire for caught behind. He was saved from a clear LBW by umpires call on impact.
It is a decision the umpire in my opinion never made. I find it a massive flaw in DRS which I like. One solution to this would
— Seth Bennett (@Sethb45) February 15, 2021
Be asking the fielding captain what he is appealing for. At which point the onfield umpire gives his decision and then the if it is like this case not out for caught. Then fielding team reviews again & the 3rd umpire solely makes the LBW decision and there is no umpires call.
— Seth Bennett (@Sethb45) February 15, 2021
— Rajdeep Sardesai (@sardesairajdeep) February 15, 2021
DRS is still not at its best when it comes to accuracy, by the time the ball had hit the pad of Joe Root, the off stump was clearly visible but ball tracking was not accurate at all, that was plumb LBW !!
— Divyank Gupta (@DivyankGupta16) February 15, 2021
Umpires are making a mockery of the DRS! If the the third umpire relies on umpires call when one sees from the naked eye that Joe Root is out, then why its Not Out? @bhogleharsha @virendersehwag @BCCI @ICC #INDvsENG #DRS
— Sujay Pokle (@sujaypokle) February 15, 2021
— Jegan (@IamJegan) February 15, 2021
The Joe Root decision is exactly why DRS needs improvement.
It is academic in this game but at a different time, we've seen how disastrous broken systems can be.
Cc - World Cup final 2019.
Fix it while you can ICC #INDvsENG
— Arinjay Ghosh (@ArinjayGhosh) February 15, 2021
— Tejas Joshi (@tej_as_f) February 15, 2021
I don't understand how is this still not out. DRS is useless if you still want to give benifit of doubt to the batsman. Disappointed with the umpires. @ICC it's high time to make appropriate changes. #INDvsENG #JoeRoot #axarpatel https://t.co/3kQ7jBpTlq
— Aayush Gupta🇮🇳 (@_aayush7_) February 15, 2021
The ICC should have a serious think about 'Umpire's Call' to do away with nonsense decisions like Joe Root being given not out when plum LBW.
If a ball is going to hit a stump or bail, it is 'out', regardless of on field decision. #INDvENG #DRS #UmpiresCall
— David Beckett (@iamdavidbeckett) February 15, 2021
Kohli could also find himself facing a sanction after the argument with the umpire.
Under the ICC's 'Code of Conduct' because Kohli could be deemed to have been 'arguing or entering into a prolonged discussion with the umpire about his/her decision" it could see him face a penalty.
Despite the incident, former England captain Sir Andrew Strauss said Kohli didn't handle the decision well.
“It’s not Virat’s place to say [to the umpire], ‘Why did you make that decision?'" Strauss said on Channel 4.
“It’s that slightly superior attitude he shows which grates with opposition players.”
Click here to sign up to our newsletter for all the latest and breaking stories from Australia and around the world.