Marnus Labuschagne axed from World Cup squad as Pat Cummins injury blow confirmed

Cricket Australia has announced squads for upcoming ODI and T20 matches against South Africa, ahead of the World Cup in October.

Marnus Labuschagne and Pat Cummins.
Marnus Labuschagne has been axed from Australia's ODI World Cup squad, while Pat Cummins' fractured wrist has been confirmed. Image: Getty

Marnus Labuschagne has been sensationally axed from Australia's 18-man squad for the Cricket World Cup, while Pat Cummins has been confirmed to have fractured his wrist in the fifth Ashes Test. Leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha and all-rounder Aaron Hardie were both named in the ODI squad on Monday, however there was no room for premier Test batter Labuschagne.

The 18-man squad will travel to South Africa for a five-match ODI series in September before it is cut down to 15 for the World Cup in October. Labuschagne has played in 30 of Australia's last 38 one-day matches since debuting in early 2020, returning an average of just 31.37. He has passed 50 just three times in 16 innings since being recalled to the middle order in March last year.

'NOT JOKING': Nathan Lyon's staggering call on playing 2027 Ashes

NOT HAPPY: Ashes furore takes new twist as 'ludicrous' claim slammed

Meanwhile, Cricket Australia have confirmed that Cummins did fracture his wrist in the Ashes series finale after he was spotted with heavy strapping on it after the fifth Test at The Oval. However the captain will travel with the ODI squad to South Africa and is expected to be fit in six weeks' time.

Cummins is expected to play during the subsequent series against India, which will take place after the South Africa tour. Mitchell Starc has also been cleared to take on South Africa despite suffering a shoulder injury in the Ashes.

Australia's selection chair George Bailey said Cummins has "an undisplaced fracture of his left radius which requires six weeks rehabilitation. We view a period of enforced rest for Pat as a positive ahead of this important World Cup campaign. There are still a number of games he could play before the World Cup which is more than enough for him to have a strong preparation."

Josh Hazlewood will captain the ODI team in Cummins' absence, with no vice-captain named for the South Africa tour. Glenn Maxwell will sit out the ODI portion of the South Africa tour due to the impending arrival of his first child, but will link up with the squad in India.

"This side has been extremely impressive for several years in limited-overs cricket," Bailey. "There is an enormous amount of skill and experience in the group, which you need in a World Cup."

Marnus Labuschagne.
Marnus Labuschagne (R) has played 30 one-day internationals for Australia. (Photo by Pankaj Nangia/Getty Images)

Mitch Marsh to captain Australia in T20 series

Meanwhile, Mitch Marsh has been named to captain the T20 squad for the South Africa tour. The Aussies will play three T20s before the five-match ODI series.

Only Marsh, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Maxwell and Adam Zampa remain from Australia's most recent T20 side from November in a 14-man squad. Hardie has once again won selection, while reigning BBL player of the year Matt Short has been included.

Marsh has been named as skipper for the South Africa tour only, with Cricket Australia yet to name a full-time replacement for the retired Aaron Finch. "Mitch has long been a senior player within the white-ball structure, with this an opportunity for him to add to his leadership skills at international level," Bailey said. "We look forward to him taking that step in South Africa."

Starc, Hazlewood, Cummins, Cameron Green and David Warner will all miss the T20 series, while Ashton Agar is rehabilitating a calf injury. All will join for the one-day leg of the South African tour.

Australia ODI squad:

Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Australia T20 squad:

Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

T20s v South Africa:

  • August 31

  • September 2

  • September 3

ODIs v South Africa:

  • September 7

  • September 9

  • September 12

  • September 15

  • September 17

ODIs v India:

  • September 22

  • September 24

  • September 27

with AAP

Sign up to our newsletter and score the biggest sport stories of the week.