Cricket fans left stunned as rare Aussie dismissal sparks heated debate
An extraordinary moment in Sydney club cricket left many questioning the difference between a long-range stumping and a runout.
A bizarre dismissal in Sydney club cricket has left fans asking for clarification on the difference between a long-range stumping and a runout. Northern District was cruising at 3-110 chasing 190 and in a strong position to record an unlikely qualifying final victory over leading NSW Premier League club Manly-Warringah when wicket-keeper Jay Lenton pulled something special from out of the box.
Gloving a leg-side delivery from NSW and Sydney Sixers all-rounder Jack Edwards, Lenton casually back-handed the ball towards the pitch from 20m behind the stumps. Incredibly, it hit middle stump with NDs top order batsman Lachlan Shaw out of his crease, sparking wild celebrations from Lenton and teammates.
'NOT GOOD ENOUGH': Ellyse Perry caught in brutal $850,000 twist
HUGE MOVE: Aaron Finch and Marcus Stoinis in $174m development
Manly went on to win the game after bowling their opposition out 35 runs short of the winning target. But the big question after the game surrounded the official ruling on Lenton's quick-thinking dismissal.
Was it a run out or was it a stumping? The official match scorers originally had it down as a run out, robbing Edwards of a 10-wicket haul for the match.
But after a conversation with the umpires at stumps, the dismissal was eventually changed from a runout to a stumping and Edwards had his 10 scalps thanks to Lenton's ingenuity.
Jay Lenton speaks out about unusual dismissal
The keeper told Yahoo Sport Australia: "I noticed he moved forward a bit and I threw the ball in hope more than anything…I didn’t think of it working at all. As soon as it hit the stumps it all clicked that it might just be out and it was.
"There was a bit of confusion (about the mode of dismissal) and the scorers had it down as a run out, but it was definitely a stumping and they changed it. I've had a few stumpings in my career but nothing like that."
Former Test umpire and member of the MCC laws committee, Simon Taufel, confirmed the correct call had eventually been made on the dismissal. He told us: "Spot on (it was a stumping).
"I've seen a few of these, normally when the batter is not thinking and doesn’t stay in the crease/moment. If the umpire deems no run is being attempted, it is a stumping."
Stop it @JayLenton!
— Callum Ferguson (@calferguson12) March 20, 2023
Run out, not a stumping IMO...
— LostIn84 (@DavidNeyland2) March 20, 2023
Does that go down as stumping or run out?
— Pyjama Cricket (@JonnyChaps) March 20, 2023
They just keep getting better
— replyguy (@DamianMcilroy) March 20, 2023
Isnt this a stumping?
— Mayank Doshi (@doshimayank) March 20, 2023
That has to be stumped not runout. Not attempting a run. Answer to original question- No never!
— Shalal Sadullah (@cricketmadmedic) March 20, 2023
Sign up to our newsletter and score the biggest sport stories of the week.