Ellyse Perry and Nathan Lyon in TV snub amid Mitch Marsh's Allan Border Medal triumph

Questions are being asked as to why some of the major Australian Cricket Awards weren't televised.

Ellyse Perry, Mitch Marsh and Nathan Lyon.
Ellyse Perry, Mitch Marsh and Nathan Lyon at the Australian Cricket Awards. Image: Getty

Mitch Marsh and Ash Gardner are the toast of Australian cricket after winning the Allan Border Medal and Belinda Clark Award on Wednesday night. But there were bizarre scenes when the majority of the rest of the major awards - received by the likes of Ellyse Perry and Nathan Lyon - weren't even televised.

Ellyse Perry scooped the women's ODI and T20 player of the year awards, while Nathan Lyon picked up the Shane Warne Test player of the year gong. But for whatever reason the ODI and T20 awards weren't deemed worthy of being televised.

WATCH OUT: Rivals hit with warning after Aussies embarrassed in Test loss

NOT GOOD: Shamar Joseph in sad development after heroics at Gabba

Wednesday night's coverage of the Australian Cricket Awards put a heavy focus on the Allan Border Medal and Belinda Clark Award - the highest men's and women's honours in the country. The TV coverage featured the three finalists for each medal heavily, with interviews conducted before the winners were announced.

The TV coverage, which was on Channel 7 and Fox Cricket, also showed Matt Short being named BBL player of the year. But for some baffling reason, the coverage ended after Marsh won the AB Medal and Gardner scooped the Belinda Clark Award.

Ash Gardner and Mitch Marsh.
Ash Gardner won the Belinda Clark Award, while Mitch Marsh won the Allan Border Medal. (Photo by Morgan Hancock/Getty Images for Cricket Australia)

It meant TV viewers didn't get to see Jason Behrendorff win the men's T20 player of the year, Marsh win the men's ODI player of the year and Lyon win the men's Test player of the year. Perry did the double by winning the women's T20 and ODI player of the year gongs, but TV viewers also didn't get to see it.

It's doubtful whether many fans even realised the awards were handed out. Tellingly, 7Cricket and Fox Cricket both failed to post about the other awards on social media - perhaps to avoid questions about why they weren't televised.

The decision to shorten the coverage comes as a huge change compared to recent years, when all of the major awards were televised. Usman Khawaja gave one of the all-time speeches after winning the Test player of the year award in 2023, but who knows whether Lyon even got to give a speech this year.

Mitch Marsh, Ellyse Perry and Nathan Lyon.
Mitch Marsh, Ellyse Perry and Nathan Lyon's other awards weren't even televised. (Photo by Jonathan DiMaggio/Getty Images for Cricket Australia)

Nathan Lyon, Ellyse Perry and Jason Behrendorff win big

The 36-year-old was a surprise winner of the award named in Shane Warne's honour, with many expecting Khawaja to get it again. Khawaja was named Test player of the year by the ICC, but missed out on Wednesday night. Despite missing the final three Tests of the Ashes due to a torn calf, Lyon's outstanding performances in India were enough for him to collect the red-ball award for the second time (his first coming in 2019).

Perry took out the ODI and T20 awards, but Gardner pipped her by 13 votes for the Belinda Clark medal. Gardner starred in Australia's Test win during the multi-format Ashes in England last year, and the spinner performed admirably in the recent red-ball defeat to India on a turning wicket in Mumbai.

As for Marsh, he capped off his incredible career resurgence by winning the ODI award and Allan Border Medal. An emotional Marsh gave a funny and touching acceptance speech, paying tribute to wife Greta, captain Pat Cummins and coach Andrew McDonald.

"I often spoke to my wife about ... ," Marsh said before pausing as his emotions welled up. "... that I just wanted to get one more crack at it, and it's been amazing. She gave me the perspective on life that I needed."

Cricket Australia Awards winners:

Belinda Clark Award – Ash Gardner (147 votes)

2nd: Ellyse Perry (134)

3rd: Annabel Sutherland (106)

Allan Border Medal – Mitch Marsh (223 votes)

Pat Cummins (144)

Steve Smith (141)

Women's ODI Player of the Year – Ellyse Perry

Women's T20I Player of the Year – Ellyse Perry

Shane Warne Men's Test Player of the Year – Nathan Lyon

Men's ODI Player of the Year – Mitch Marsh

Men's T20I Player of the Year – Jason Behrendorff

Women's Domestic Player of the Year – Sophie Day, Elyse Villani (tied)

Men's Domestic Player of the Year – Cameron Bancroft

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year – Emma De Brough

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year – Fergus O'Neill

with AAP

Sign up to our newsletter and score the biggest sport stories of the week.