Controversy and the Big Bash go hand in hand this season.
On Thursday night at the Gabba, the 'correct' decision was made even if commentators, players and the majority of viewers didn't think so.
The drama unfolded when Test star Matthew Wade batting for the Hobart Hurricanes against the Brisbane Heat.
Wade smashed a ball that was travelling over the boundary for six when Renshaw intercepted the ball just inside the rope.
Knowing momentum was taking him onto the wrong side of the rope, Renshaw batted the ball back up to himself in the air.
He was still standing on the other side of the rope when he jumped again and batted the ball back to teammate Tom Banton, ensuring that no part of his body was touching the ground when he did so.
Banton took the resulting catch, with Heat players adamant they had snared the batsman.
Wade sensed his fate and started walking back to the pavilion as replays confirmed that Renshaw's feet were in the air when he batted the ball to Banton.
While commentators commended Renshaw for an "absolutely magnificent" piece of improvisation, many fans were left seething at the rule that allowed the wicket to stand.
That’s a joke that you can call that out. What’s the point of even starting inside the boundary then? Why not just start in the crowd and throw the ball back while jumping? Joke rule— ⍟ Pokey 🇦🇺 (@xPokeyyy) January 9, 2020
You can't be outside the boundary rope when a delivery is being bowled. The rules are very simple.— Edward Lavis (@edlavis88) January 9, 2020
Get rid of this rule!! It looks like the kind of thing made up by your bullying next door neighbour to get you out in a backyard cricket game. Actually looks silly. People should now just set up behind the rope when a 6 is needed, catch balls in the air and throw them back. 😡— Stefan Aveling (@stefan_aveling) January 9, 2020
The rule should be that once he has grounded his feet outside the rope he can jump in the air knock the ball up but then he can only re catch the ball by re-entering the field of play, not a team mate. Much like tossing the ball up before you cross the line then reenter to catch.— Rod (@Polish_62) January 9, 2020
Don’t think this is out. Why do u insist on players being inside the boundary line then??? It’s best they stay in the stands and throwing balls back whenever someone hits them out of the park.— Shivam Dave (@shivam1819) January 9, 2020
That should not be out, I don't care what the wording of the rule is, not one part of his body is on or in contact with the field of play, therefore plays the ball illegally. Wade is hard done by 👎— Andrew Emery (@AndrewE54248199) January 9, 2020
Don’t know what this rule-maker are smoking nowadays. Obviously this was not out, he touched ground outside the rope than jumped and threw ball inside. 😂😂😂😂😂— Satyajeet Singh (@sjitsing) January 9, 2020
Wrong decision given by umpire once the fielder landed over the boundary line after that he pushes the ball to another fielder... So how the batsment get out.... Poor decision...— sachin singla (@sachinsingla88) January 9, 2020
That’s rubbish. You might as well field outside the rope and not catch a six to bat it back in— LukeHartin (@luke_hartin) January 9, 2020
Wade, who admitted he wasn't sure of the rule, was sent on his way for 61 runs as the Hurricanes managed just 9-126 off their 20 overs.
Brisbane stuttered in their chase of 127 before Ben Cutting blasted an unbeaten 43 to get the hosts home with 10 balls to spare.
Renshaw's self-described "assist" was the talking point though, Wade admitting he was one of many on the field unaware that a 2013 rule change meant it was a fair catch.
‘It's a bit of a strange one’
That's despite the likes of Sam Billings, Glenn Maxwell and Renshaw's Heat teammate Josh Lalor all benefiting from that interpretation to claim catches in recent years.
"It's a bit of a strange one, we play a lot of sports where you can't come from outside the field of play and touch the ball again," Wade said.
"But I've got no grudges ... nobody's talked about it until this point so it hasn't been much of an issue, but will it be an issue (now that it's happened again)?
"Maybe players could expose it a little, but you'd have to do a hell of a job to do it."
Renshaw, who admitted he didn't know the law and that the parry back to Banton was accidental, said the skill may find its way into fielding sessions.
"Apparently you can just keep hitting the ball up as long as you're in the air," he said.
"So maybe we'll keep practising that."
The Heat were scratchy in their run-chase but now sit 4-3 for the season after reaching the total with 10 balls and five wickets in hand.
It was the Heat's first successful run chase from four attempts this season and they made hard work of it, losing 4-19 just when they appeared to be cruising.
But Ben Cutting (43 off 29) went large and Jimmy Peirson (23 off 25) steadied the ship following the horror run-out of Chris Lynn (nine) to guide them home to the relief of the 29,749 fans.