'Group of Death': Australia drawn against Messi's Argentina as guests in Copa America 2020

Australia will face the Ballon d’Or winner Lionel Messi and Argentina at next year's Copa America after being drawn in a tough Group A for the South American competition.

The Socceroos will play in the south zone of the championship along with co-hosts Argentina, two-time World Cup winners Uruguay, Chile, Bolivia and Paraguay.

‘THE GOAT?': Messi secures record sixth Ballon d'Or as Ronaldo snubs ceremony

Graham Arnold's team are one of two guest nations competing in the tournament, along with Asian Cup winners Qatar, with the competition beginning on June 12.

Jamie Maclaren (pictured left) for Australia and Lionel Messi (pictured right). (Getty Images)

Fans on social media couldn’t contain their excitement with the prospect of Arnold’s men lining up against the six-time Ballon d’Or champ.

Others lamented the draw claiming Australia had been handed the Group of Death after dropping into the South Zone.

Asian Cup holders Qatar have been drawn in Group B and will face co-hosts Colombia, defending champions Brazil, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuala.

Qatar played in this year's Copa along with Japan, drawing their opening group match but failing to get past the group stage.

No guest nation has won the Copa, with Mexico coming closest by reaching the final in 1993 and 2001.

The top four teams from each group at the 2020 Copa America qualify for the quarter-finals.


GROUP A Argentina (co-hosts) Australia Bolivia Uruguay Chile Paraguay

GROUP B Colombia (co-hosts) Brazil Qatar Venezuela Ecuador Peru