Controversial stumping call divides cricket world

A controversial dismissal in Australia’s T20 victory over India has divided opinion.

Adam Zampa managed to fool KL Rahul and had him stumped for 13 on Wednesday night as the Aussies won by four runs.

A sharp piece of work from wicketkeeper Alex Carey was Rahul’s undoing, with the third umpire giving the Indian batsman when he determined the Indian batsman didn’t have any part of his foot behind the crease.

Out or not out? Image: Fox Sports

However replays appeared to be inconclusive, with one angle suggesting Rahul did have something grounded behind the line.

Is part of the foot behind the line? Image: Fox Sports

Nevertheless Rahul was sent on his way, sparking debate among fans on social media.











Australia survived some nervous moments to hold off a valiant Indian chase at the Gabba with a four-run win that snapped a four-game Twenty20 losing streak.

Storms reduced Wednesday’s tour opener to a 17-over-a-side fixture, with India requiring 174 for victory after the hosts posted 4-158.

And they looked on track with Shikhar Dhawan (76 from 42) piloting the chase, until Adam Zampa (2-22 from four overs) dismissed captain Virat Kohli for just four.

Dhawan, who Zampa had dropped off his own bowling on 65, was caught on the third man boundary in the next over.

Needing more than two a ball in the last five overs, Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant took 25 off Andrew Tye in the 14th over to drag themselves back into the contest.

Pant then departed and left India needing 13 off the final over.

But Marcus Stoinis held his nerve, taking two wickets to leave India stranded at 7-169.

with AAP