'A disgrace': Champions League rocked after 'ridiculous' red card

Riley Morgan
·Sports Reporter
·4-min read
Stefan Savic elbowing Antonio Rudiger (pictured left) and reacting after being handed a red card by the referee (pictured right).
Stefan Savic was sent off (picture dright) after elbowing Antonio Rudiger (pictured left) during a corner in the Champions League tie between Chelsea and Atletico Madrid. (Images: DAZN/Getty Images)

The Champions League clash between Chelsea and Atletico Madrid has been marred after a controversial red card to centre back Savic all but ended the tie.

Chelsea were in a comfortable position with a 1-0 lead (2-0 in the tie) with just eight minutes remaining of normal time left in the match.

'EMBARRASSING': Football fans slam 'awful' Champions League moment

'STUNNING': Kevin de Bruyne shocks fans with 'ballistic' moment

But tempers boiled over in a corner when Atletico centre back Stefan Savic was given a straight red for an elbow to Chelsea centre back Antonio Rudiger.

However, the Atletico Madrid players became incensed after replays showed the slight elbow landed in his chest.

While any dangerous play is considered a red card, many fans considered the red card 'ridiculous' with elbows being thrown to the body in corners during most matches.

Others felt the elbow was worthy of a red, regardless of where it landed.

This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.
This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.
This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.
This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.
This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.
This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.
This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.
This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.
This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.
This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.
This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.

Some fans were left confused to why VAR didn't step in and ask the referee to review the decision.

Many pointed out that Chelsea had executed the 'dark arts' of football very well in the tie against a Diego Simeone team, which is renowned for their mastery in that part of the game.

UK Athletic sports reporter Simon Johnson said it was like the 'pot calling the kettle' phrase, in regards to Atletico players complaining.

Despite Chelsea winning 2-0 (3-0) on aggregate and deserving their passage through to the quarter-final stage, Atletico fans could also point to another moment in the game that was divisive.

Atletico denied penalty in controversial moment

After the dust settled at the beginning of the second-leg, Atletico Madrid clawed their way back into the game and some fans feel hard done by after a moment of madness from César Azpilicueta.

The defender passed the ball back to Edouardo Mendy, but panicked after realising the ball had put his goal keeper under pressure.

Yannick Carrasco seized on the opportunity and rushed to put Mendy under pressure.

Yannick Ferreira Carrasco goes down after a challenge by Cesar Azpilicueta during the UEFA Champions League Round of 16 match.
Yannick Ferreira Carrasco goes down after a challenge by Cesar Azpilicueta during the UEFA Champions League Round of 16 match. (Photo by Matthew Lewis - UEFA/UEFA via Getty Images)

But in a controversial moment, Azpilicueta decided to wrap his arm around the Atletico winger in an attempt to slow him down.

Carrasco went down under the touch, albeit softly, but no penalty was given and the ref did not check the moment on VAR as play continued.

The contact had many calling for a penalty considering the winger was attempting to intercept the ball.

Click here to sign up to our newsletter for all the latest and breaking stories from Australia and around the world.