Carabao Cup draw in full: EFL debutants Bromley host AFC Wimbledon in first round

Prize: Liverpool are the current holders of the Carabao Cup (Getty Images)
Prize: Liverpool are the current holders of the Carabao Cup (Getty Images)

Last season's Carabao Cup semi-finalists Middlesbrough will face Championship rivals Leeds in the first round of this year's competition.

Michael Carrick's side were last term's surprise package after reaching the last four, losing to Chelsea after a first-leg 1-0 home win was followed by a 6-1 thrashing in the return match at Stamford Bridge.

Boro will travel to Elland Road to face a Leeds side who lost to Southampton in the Championship play-off final at Wembley last month.

Sheffield United are back in the first round after being relegated from the Premier League and they will meet Wrexham, who were promoted to League One last campaign.

Chesterfield, who won the National League, face the short trip to Derby.

New Plymouth boss Wayne Rooney will begin his League Cup campaign with a home tie against Cheltenham, while Birmingham - now in League One - travel to Charlton.

Bromley, newly promoted to the English Football League, will feature for the first time with a home tie against fellow League Two side AFC Wimbledon.

All first-round ties are split into northern and southern sections and will be played week commencing August 12.