David Warner breaks down on stage in emotional Allan Border Medal speech

An emotional David Warner has completed a stunning return to international cricket by claiming his third Allan Border Medal, finishing a single vote ahead of Steve Smith.

The pair were banned from representing Australia for a year after the 2018 sandpaper scandal, only returning in June to the national set-up.

GALLERY: Players and partners dazzle on the red carpet

Prolific performances in the World Cup and Australia's home Test summer allowed Warner (194) to edge out Smith (193) in Monday night's thrilling count at Melbourne's Crown Palladium.

Last year's medallist Pat Cummins (185) capped off a consistent 12 months across all formats to round out the top three.

David Warner broke down while thanking his family. Image: Channel 7

Warner's triumph goes with his AB medals from 2016 and 2017, with the three victories putting him in rare company, only one behind four-time winners Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke.

He became emotional when delivering his acceptance speech, especially when it came to mentioning his family and wife Candice.

“My mum and dad, I know I’ve let you down a lot in the past but you always stick by my side and I really appreciate that, and my brother,” he said.

“My wife, my rock, I don’t know what could ever break you, you’re absolutely fantastic, you’re an inspiration not just to me but to the girls.

“It’s hard for a man to stand up here and say a lot of nice words about people but you always seem to bring the best out of me and the kindness of my heart.

“I can’t thank you enough for what you do for me and our family. I love you dearly.”

Warner also admitted he was shocked to win the top gong after the worst Ashes series by an opening batsman in history.

"I had an absolutely horrendous Ashes. I didn't really think I was a chance," Warner told reporters.

"There were a few tough times there, with me and my wife (Candice) having two miscarriages - there were a lot of things going on in my life away from cricket that I had to work on.

"Not having cricket there, I had to work out what was going to be the best for me."

Ellyse Perry wins women’s gong

Australian cricket's other highest individual honour went to star women's allrounder Ellyse Perry, who picked up her third Belinda Clark Award with 161 votes.

Perry's dominant Ashes series skyrocketed her eight votes in front of last year's winner Alyssa Healy (153), with Jess Jonassen third on 89.

"I'm incredibly flattered. You look at the contributions across the squad in the last 12 months, it's been incredible from so many players," Perry said.

"It's always lovely to know you've had an impact."

Warner also picked up the Twenty20 international honour, while Marnus Labuschange was rewarded for his stunning consistency since the Ashes Lord's match to win his maiden Test player of the year award.

Ellyse Perry and David Warner celebrate their top awards. (Photo by Daniel Pockett/Getty Images)

Limited-overs captain Aaron Finch (38 votes) finished ahead of axed batsman Usman Khawaja (33) for the ODI player of the year.

Warner's success caps off a significant redemption tale, with the aggressive opening batsman banned by Cricket Australia from holding a leadership position after the Cape Town ball-tampering saga.

The 33-year-old plundered bowling attacks during the World Cup, finishing with 647 runs at an average of 71.88, one run behind Indian opener Rohit Sharma for the leading scorer of the tournament.

Warner struggled during Australia's retention of the Ashes, before making up for it with a dominant home summer, highlighted by a record-breaking 335 not out against Pakistan at Adelaide Oval.

Smith was the opposite, as he was untouchable against England with 774 runs from only four Tests, but below his absolute best on return to Australian shores and failed to score a century across five Tests.

In other awards, former Australian batsman Shaun Marsh took out the men's domestic player of the year and Wes Agar picked up the Bradman young cricketer.


* Allan Border Medal: David Warner

* Belinda Clark Award: Ellyse Perry

* Test player of the year: Marnus Labuschange

* One-day international player of the year: Aaron Finch

* T20 international player of the year: David Warner

* Women's ODI player of the year: Healy

* Women's T20 international player of the year: Healy

* Domestic players of the year: Shaun Marsh and Molly Strano

* Bradman young men's cricketer: Wes Agar

* Betty Wilson young women's cricketer: Tayla Vlaeminck


* Warner 194 votes

* Steve Smith 193

* Pat Cummins 185


* Perry 161 votes

* Healy 153

* Jess Jonassen 87