Pat Cummins picked up a lucky wicket in Australia’s first Test against Pakistan, after the third umpire failed to overturn a wicket that fell on what looked to be a no-ball.
Pakistan lost Mohammad Rizwan for 37 after he edged a Cummins delivery through to Tim Paine behind the stumps.
‘I DID ASK FOR IT’: Keeper's cheeky sledge backfires on live TV
What looked like a regulation wicket quickly became anything but, umpire Richard Kettleborough asked for the ball to be reviewed by the third umpire.
Cummins’ foot was planted on the line, with his heel appearing to be on the crease - which should be a no-ball.
But, incredibly, third umpire Michael Gough did not overturn the decision, costing Pakistan a wicket many believed they should still have.
Appalling decision by TV umpire to ‘pardon’ Cummins’s no ball which sends Rizwan back.— Cricketwallah (@cricketwallah) November 21, 2019
Cummins definitely got the ‘good bloke, let him have it’ there. 100% a no ball #AUSvPAK— Oliver Caffrey (@ollycaffrey) November 21, 2019
Did the TV umpire push the wrong button there on Muhammad Rizwan? Can't see otherwise how that could be given out. #AUSvPAK— Andrew Wu (@wutube) November 21, 2019
Strange decision, Mohammad Rizwan given out - Replays show that it should have been a no-ball. No portion of his foot was behind the line but the third umpire rules that it's a fair delivery #AUSvPAK #Cricket pic.twitter.com/xHfVmYT7Ds— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) November 21, 2019
Test greats baffled by no-ball decision
Former Australian Test captain Allan Border was among the many stumped observers.
The front-foot no-ball rule states benefit of the doubt favours the bowler, but Border argued that it was clear cut.
"I'm trying to find something behind (the line) there but I just can't," Border said on Fox Cricket commentary.
Brett Lee, Jason Gillespie and Ricky Ponting joined the queue.
"I think that's the wrong call. I think it's a no-ball and should be recalled," Gillespie said on ABC radio.
Lee said even through Australian-tinted glasses he couldn't see how Rizwan wasn't recalled to the crease.
"I reckon that's hard on Pakistan, I think that's got to be called a no-ball," he said.
"You won't often hear me say this, but that's got to go to the batsman."
In commentary for with Channel Seven, Ponting had no doubt the wrong decision was made.
"I couldn't see any part of his foot land behind the line," he said.