Alex Carey scores fresh win over Jonny Bairstow as ICC unveils cricket teams of 2023

The Aussie wicket-keeper famously stumped his England rival in the second Ashes Test.

Alex Carey and Jonny Bairstow.
Alex Carey has been named in the ICC Test team of the year over Jonny Bairstow. Image: Getty

Alex Carey has been named in the ICC's Test team of 2023, which comes as a fresh win over England nemesis Jonny Bairstow. Five Australians were included in the governing body's team of the year when it was named on Wednesday, after Pat Cummins' side won the Ashes and World Test Championship in 2023.

Cummins was named captain, while fellow fast bowler Mitchell Starc also got a nod. Usman Khawaja was named at the top of the order, while Travis Head was included at No.5.

'EMBARRASSED': Glenn Maxwell learns his fate after Cricket Australia probe

'SAD': Cricket fans rally around Virat Kohli after bombshell decision

But the inclusion of Carey as the wicket-keeper and No.7 batter will come as the most crushing blow to England cricket fans. Bairstow was controversially stumped by Carey in the second Ashes Test at Lord's after the Englishman lazily wandered out of his crease before the ball was dead.

Bairstow thought the over had been completed and began to walk down the pitch for a chat with Ben Stokes. But Carey had thrown the ball at the stumps as soon as he received it, with the ball smashing into the wicket after Bairstow had left his crease.

Alex Carey and Jonny Bairstow in the Ashes.
Alex Carey's stumping of Jonny Bairstow in the Ashes proved hugely controversial. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

Bairstow and his teammates were left seething at the Aussie ploy, despite the majority of the cricket world agreeing that it was completely legal. England fans felt it was against the spirit of the game, but the overwhelming opinion was that Bairstow was mostly to blame for being so careless.

Members of the MCC would later abuse the Aussie players in the famous 'Long Room' at Lord's, and Carey revealed his family had become the target of social media trolls. His inclusion in the Test team of the year at the expense of Bairstow will be a sweet victory for the Aussie, but not everyone agreed with it on social media.

Carey scored 461 runs in 20 innings in 2023, averaging just 24.30. Bairstow averaged 40.2 across nine innings (322 runs), but his keeping was sub-par.

Meanwhile, Australia only has two players in the ODI team of the year despite winning the World Cup last year. Head features again alongside leg-spinner Adam Zampa, with India getting six players in the team despite losing to Australia in the World Cup final. Zampa was the only Australian included when the ICC announced the team of the World Cup, with India's unbeaten run to the final getting more recognition than Australia's overall triumph. Head was controversially snubbed at the time despite his match-winning century in the decider.

Five Aussies are also in the women's ODI team of the year, with Ellyse Perry, Beth Mooney and Ash Gardner also named in the T20 team. There is no women's Test XI due to the limited number of fixtures worldwide.

Men’s Test team of the year:

Usman Khawaja, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kane Williamson, Joe Root, Travis Head, Ravindra Jadeja, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Ravi Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Stuart Broad

Men’s ODI team of the year:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Travis Head, Virat Kohli, Daryl Mitchell, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Marco Jansen, Adam Zampa, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami

Men’s T20I team of the year:

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Phil Salt, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Suryakumar Yadav (c), Mark Chapman, Sikandar Raza, Alpesh Ramjani, Mark Adair, Ravi Bishnoi, Richard Ngarava, Arshdeep Singh

Women’s ODI team of the year:

Phoebe Litchfield, Chamari Athapaththu (c), Ellyse Perry, Amelia Kerr, Beth Mooney (wk), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Ash Gardner, Annabel Sutherland, Nadine de Klerk, Lea Tahuhu, Nahida Akter

Women’s T20I team of the year:

Chamari Athapaththu (c), Beth Mooney (wk), Laura Wolvaardt, Hayley Matthews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, Ellyse Perry, Ash Gardner, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Megan Schutt

with AAP

Sign up to our newsletter and score the biggest sport stories of the week.