AFL world in uproar over detail in All-Australian team photo

Tom Hawkins, pictured here after being named captain of the AFL's 2022 All-Australian team.
Tom Hawkins was named captain of the AFL's 2022 All-Australian team. (Photo by Daniel Pockett/Getty Images)

AFL fans and commentators were left up in arms on Wednesday night after Geelong veteran Tom Hawkins was named captain of the All-Australian team.

Geelong were rewarded for their outstanding AFL season after finishing minor premiers by having five players named in the All-Australian team.

MORE BAD NEWS: Essendon rocked by fresh bombshell

BRUTAL: Essendon's move against James Hird's son amid rumours

The premiership favourites make up almost a quarter of the 22-player team, with star forward Hawkins unveiled as captain of the AFL's team of the year for the first time.

It marks the evergreen goal-kicker's fifth All-Australian selection, while breakout Cats teammate Tyson Stengle was named beside Hawkins in the forward pocket.

However the decision to make Hawkins the captain has caused controversy amongst fans and pundits considering he has never been captain of any side he has played in.

“I don’t think I’ve actually ever been captain of a football side before, so to be standing alongside some of the best players of our generation is pretty cool,” the 34-year-old Hawkins said.

“Very unexpected, but very cool to be identified with.”

Melbourne captain Max Gawn and Carlton skipper Patrick Cripps were both named in the side, with many feeling they would have been more appropriate options.

Geelong get five players in All-Australian team

Stengle has been a revelation in his first year at Geelong, playing all 22 games and kicking 46 goals to top up a lethal forward line with Hawkins and fellow teammate Jeremy Cameron.

After gaining two All-Australian selections at the GWS Giants in 2013 and 2019, Cameron was picked at centre-half-forward in his second season with Geelong.

Reigning premiers Melbourne weren't far behind, with Gawn being named All-Australian for a sixth time and fifth year in a row.

Steven May was picked at full-back for the second-straight year, while fellow Demons stars Clayton Oliver and Christian Petracca also earned selection.

This year's All-Australian team comprises 12 first-timers, including Fremantle young gun Brownlow Medal contender Andrew Brayshaw.

Tom Hawkins, pictured here with the rest of the AFL All-Australian team.
Tom Hawkins and the rest of the AFL All-Australian team. (Photo by Dylan Burns/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

Twelve different clubs supply at least one player, with Adelaide, Essendon, Hawthorn, North Melbourne, West Coast and the Western Bulldogs missing out.

Carlton captain Cripps was chosen as vice-captain, while dashing teammate Adam Saad was picked on a half-back flank to numb some of the Blues' pain of brutally missing the finals.

Meanwhile, Collingwood young gun Nick Daicos was predictably honoured as the AFL's Rising Star, claiming 60 votes to finish ahead of Geelong defender Sam De Koning.

Daicos, the son of Magpies legend Peter, was considered unlucky not to be named in the All-Australian squad of 44 after playing every game in his debut season.

Brayshaw also became the youngest player since St Kilda legend Nick Riewoldt in 2004 to be crowned the AFL Players Association's most valuable player.

Andrew Brayshaw, pictured here after winning The AFL Players MVP Award.
Andrew Brayshaw speaks after winning The AFL Players MVP Award. (Photo by Daniel Pockett/Getty Images)

The 22-year-old claimed his first Leigh Matthews Trophy after an outstanding 2022 season, finishing ahead of Melbourne premiership hero Clayton Oliver and Richmond dynamo Shai Bolton.

Brayshaw racked up the sixth most possessions during the home-and-away season as Fremantle charged up the ladder to end a seven-year finals drought.

It follows Brayshaw on Tuesday being named captain of the AFLPA Under-22 side, becoming the first player to make that team and also win the MVP in the same season.

Other AFLPA awards went to Daicos (Best First Year player), Collingwood skipper Scott Pendlebury (Best Captain) and Richmond hard nut Liam Baker (Most Courageous).

with AAP

Click here to sign up to our newsletter for all the latest and breaking stories from Australia and around the world.