Zimbabwe surprise second-string world T20 champs India

Zimbabwe have surprised T20 world champions India, beating them by 13 runs in the opener of a five-match series in the whiteball short format.

It was, however, a second-string side touring side with the team that won the T20 World Cup still being garlanded in India after their triumph in Barbados.

Sikandar Raza took 3-25 for his young team that bowled and fielded with great energy in Harare.

Tendai Chatara picked 3-16, while Wellington Masakadza and Blessing Muzarabani took one each as India was bowled out for 102 runs in 19.5 overs.

This was after Zimbabwe scored 5-115 in 20 overs despite wrist spinner Ravi Bishnoi picking 4-13 in four overs and Sundar Washington 2-11.

Clive Madande top-scored with 29 not out off 25 balls to shepherd the score past 100. Dion Myers (23), Brian Bennett (22) and Wessly Madhevere (21) also made twenties.

It was the lowest T20 total defended in Harare as India's 12-match unbeaten run came to an end.

Chasing a low total, India were in trouble early on as the top order failed to get going.

Debutant opener Abhishen Sharma was out caught for a four-ball duck, while Ruturaj Gaikwad was dismissed off Muzarabani for 7.

Riyan Parag, another debutant, was out for two with hard-hitting Rinku Singh gone for a two-ball duck. Both fell to Chatara in the fifth over as India fell to 4-22.

Skipper Shubman Gill scored 31 to stem the collapse but Raza bowled him in the 11th over leaving India 6-47 in the 11th over.

Sundar Washington (27 off 34 balls) marshalled the lower order but the asking rate kept climbing as Raza picked two more wickets.

The Zimbabwe skipper was named player of the match.

"I am very happy about this win and we need to take this series one game at a time," Raza said. "Our catching and fielding was amazing but there is room for improvement. The fans also lifted us with their energy."