World Cup hero Head snubbed from team of tournament


Australia's World Cup hero Travis Head has been snubbed from the ICC's team of the tournament as vanquished hosts India had six of the 11 players selected.

Head missed out on a spot in the ICC XI despite writing himself into folklore by smashing a classic 137 in Sunday's final to propel Australia to their sixth ODI World Cup crown.

The South Australian missed the first half of the tournament with a fractured hand but exploded with a century in his first game against New Zealand.

In Head's six matches, he scored 329 runs at 54.83, standing up when it mattered most to be named player of the match in Australia's semi-final and final victories.

The 29-year-old changed Thursday's semi-final in Kolkata with bat and ball, taking two key wickets when South Africa were rebuilding their innings and then top-scoring with 62 during a tricky chase.

In the six-wicket win in the decider, Head pulled off a classic catch to dismiss India captain Rohit Sharma, who had threatened to take the game away from Australia.

The opener, alongside Marnus Labuschagne, completely steadied Australia's chase of 240 after the tourists fell into early trouble at 3-47 with the Narendra Modi Stadium crowd fully behind India's charge.

India, led by player-of-the-tournament Virat Kohli, had three batters in the top-five, with Rohit Sharma named captain.

The only Australians selected were Glenn Maxwell, who smashed two classic centuries, including an iconic unbeaten 201 in a winning chase against Afghanistan.

There was also a spot for Adam Zampa, who like Australia, started slowly but ended up with 23 wickets across 11 games - the most by a spinner in a men's ODI World Cup.

Star Indian quick Mohammed Shami, who had limited impact in the final, was selected at No.11 despite missing the first four matches of the tournament.


1. Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

2. Rohit Sharma (capt) (India)

3. Virat Kohli (India)

4. Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand)

5. KL Rahul (India)

6. Glenn Maxwell (Australia)

7. Ravindra Jadeja (India)

8. Jasprit Bumrah (India)

9. Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka)

10. Adam Zampa (Australia)

11. Mohammed Shami (India)

12th man: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa)