Women's Premier League final: Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Delhi Capitals to win title

RCB batters Ellyse Perry (left) and Richa Ghosh (right) celebrate winning the WPL
Ellyse Perry and Richa Ghosh steered RCB to their target

Women's Premier League Final, Delhi

Delhi Capital 113 (18.3 overs): Verma 44 (27); Patil 4-12

Royal Challengers Bangalore 115-2 (19.3 overs): Perry 35* (37), Devine 32 (27)

Royal Challengers Bangalore win by eight wickets


Royal Challengers Bangalore claimed their first Women's Premier League title with an eight-wicket victory over Delhi Capitals in the final in Delhi.

Delhi crumbled from 64-0 to 87-7 and were bowled out for 113 in the 19th over, with Shreyanka Patil taking 4-12.

RCB laboured slightly in their chase of 114 but Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry's unbeaten 35 helped them reach their target with three balls to spare.

Delhi have lost both finals of the first two WPL tournaments.

The Capitals, led by former Australia captain Meg Lanning, also finished top of last year's table, before being beaten by Mumbai Indians in the inaugural showpiece.

RCB, who beat Mumbai in Friday's eliminator, have secured a first title for the franchise owners, with the men's team yet to win the Indian Premier League, having finished runners-up three times.

RCB put Delhi in a spin

Delhi made an imperious start after winning the toss at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, with India opener Shafali Verma striking three mighty sixes down the ground to as they reached 61-0 off the powerplay.

But Australia slow left-armer Sophie Molineux turned the game by taking three wickets in the eighth over.

Verma holed out to deep mid-wicket for 44 off 27 balls, Jemimah Rodrigues swiped too early to be bowled two balls later and England all-rounder Alice Capsey also fell for a duck to the next delivery as she missed with a paddle sweep.

RCB's other spinners prevented any rebuild. Off-spinner Patil trapped Lanning lbw, leg-spinner Asha Sobhana claimed two wickets in three balls when Marizanne Kapp and Jess Jonassen skied catches, and the returning Patil removed Minnu Mani as Delhi lost seven wickets for 23 runs.

Radha Yadav was run out by Molineux's direct hit to deepen Delhi's woe before Patil struck twice in two deliveries to end the innings, RCB's spinners taking nine of the 10 wickets to fall.

Delhi's spinners failed to have the same impact, with RCB also able to see off their seam attack with relative ease.

Lanning's side forced a potential way back into the game when Devine fell lbw to Shikha Pandey for 32 off 27, but the experienced Perry continued her superb WPL form to calmly accumulate alongside captain Smriti Mandhana, who made 31 off 39.

RCB slightly stalled after Mandhana was caught off Mani, and still needed five from the final over, but Richa Ghosh smashed a drive over extra cover for four to seal victory.