Australia's female athletes shine at Women in Sport Awards

Honours for Ashleigh Barty continue to roll in with the world No.1 tennis player being named Australia's sports woman of the year.

A week after becoming the first female tennis player to win The Don at the Sport Australia Hall Of Fame awards in Melbourne, Barty also scooped the Women In Sport Moment of the Year for her French Open win in June.

HEARTBREAKING: Maria Folau in tears on court at Constellation Cup

Accepting the top award via video, Barty said she was "very fortunate to be nominated among so many other empowering women in Australian sport and to come away with the win is a bonus".

Charlotte Caslick, Laura Geitz and Tayla Harris. Image: Getty

Some of the biggest names in Australian women’s sport stunned on the red carpet at the prestigious awards night, including Aussie netball captain Laura Geitz, AFLW star Tayla Harris and rugby sevens gold medallist Charlotte Caslick.

The Australian women's cricketers took out Team of the Year for the second consecutive time, while captain Meg Lanning won the leadership award.

Madison de Rozario, Jessica Fox and Hayley Miller. Image: Getty

Women Sport Australia communications director Louise Evans saluted Barty as a champion who was gracious in victory and defeat, and the women's cricket team for their domination on the global stage.

"Let's celebrate their amazing success, applaud their deserved achievements and not forget the fight for pay parity and equal media is ongoing," Evans said.

Katie Williams, Amy Pejkovic and Ellie Cole. Image: Getty

Evans pointed to the ICC T20 World Cups in Australia next year where the prize money pool is $US2.4 million ($A3.6 million) for the women's event compared to a prize pool of $US5.6 million ($A8.3 million) for the men.

Ebony Marinoff, Alish Considine and Eloise Jones. (Photo by Brendon Thorne/Getty Images)

Women's Health Women in Sport Awards 2019 winners:

Sportswoman of the Year - Ashleigh Barty, Tennis

Moment of the Year - Ashleigh Barty, Tennis

A-Team of the Year - Australian Women's Cricket Team

Leadership Legend - Meg Lanning, Cricket

Federal Government Award for Outstanding Woman in Sport - Hannah Green, Golf

Comeback of the Year - Lauren Parker, Paratriathlon

Local Sporting Champion - Lucy Grills, Polocrosse

One to Watch - Lani Pallister, Swimming

Hall of Fame - Liz Ellis, Netball

Person of Sporting Influence - Lynne Anderson, Chair, Bulldogs NRL, and CEO, Paralympics Australia.