Carlos Alcaraz's shock act for opponent amid Wimbledon controversy

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·Sports Editor
·5-min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Carlos Alcaraz, pictured here showing his incredible sportsmanship for Oscar Otte at Wimbledon.
Carlos Alcaraz showed his incredible sportsmanship for Oscar Otte at Wimbledon. Image: Getty/BBC

Carlos Alcaraz left the tennis world in awe at Wimbledon on Friday with a brilliant act of sportsmanship for opponent Oscar Otte.

The 19-year-old Spaniard swept past his Germany opponent 6-3 6-1 6-2 to make the fourth round for the first time at the grass-court grand slam.

'OH MY GOD': Tennis world in frenzy over Venus Williams moment

'SHAME ON YOU': Fans rage over Nick Kyrgios and Rafa Nadal news

The World No.7 blitzed his way into the fourth round on the back of a stunning display of sportsmanship early in the first set.

After Alcaraz hit a deft forehand that sent Otte racing off the court to his right, the German produced a sparkling shot that went around the net post.

However the winner didn't count because a line judge had incorrectly called Alcaraz's shot out, which chair umpire Mohamed Lahyani overruled.

Lahyani then called for the point to be replayed, but Alcaraz showed some incredible class when he told the umpire to award the point to Otte anyway.

Alcaraz knew he was never going to return Otte's shot, so asked for his opponent to receive the point rather than it be replayed.

“Good sportsmanship,” Lahyani announced. “Mr Alcaraz is awarding the point to Mr Otte.”

Carlos Alcaraz, pictured here in action against Oscar Otte at Wimbledon.
Carlos Alcaraz knew he wouldn't have won the point against Oscar Otte. Image: BBC

Fans in attendance showed their appreciation for Alcaraz's gesture, while a BBC commentator said: “That is a serious bit of sportsmanship.”

Retired Aussie player Paul McNamee tweeted: "Gee Alcaraz just gave Otte a point … just because Otte made an extraordinary around the net get after an umpire miscall.

"Even though Otte arguably deserved the point, I rate that sportsmanship."

It follows a similar incident at the Miami Open in April in which Alcaraz called for a point to be replayed against Hubert Hurkacz despite it initially being awarded to him.

Chair umpire Fergus Murphy awarded Alcaraz a point when he deemed Hurkacz hadn't hit the ball before the second bounce.

However replays showed Hurkacz had got the ball in time, leaving the Polish player exasperated at the umpire.

Alcaraz also knew his opponent had been wronged, and even though he probably would have won the point anyway, he asked Murphy to replay it.

Carlos Alcaraz, pictured here celebrating his victory over Oscar Otte at Wimbledon.
Carlos Alcaraz celebrates his victory over Oscar Otte at Wimbledon. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Carlos Alcaraz moves closer to Novak Djokovic clash

Alcaraz and Novak Djokovic moved one step closer to a Wimbledon generational clash on Friday after both recorded impressive victories.

Defending champion Djokovic demolished Serbian compatriot Miomir Kecmanovic 6-0 6-3 6-4 in the third round to stay on course to equal Pete Sampras as a seven-time champion, one behind Roger Federer's men's record.

Friday's win was the 330th of Djokovic's grand slam career.

"So far, so good," said the 35-year-old top seed.

"I expect high standards from myself. You always want to raise the level and things are shaping up well."

Djokovic has now won 22 successive matches on grass and is in the last 16 at Wimbledon for the 14th time.

He hasn't lost a match on grass since falling to Marin Cilic in the final at Queen's Club four years ago.

"I started very well, very strong with a lot of intensity and focus," added Djokovic, whose only blip was being broken when he served for the match at 5-2 in the third set.

Alcaraz, who hit 37 winners in total, goes on to face Italian 10th seed Jannik Sinner, who beat John Isner in straight sets.

with AFP

Click here to sign up to our newsletter for all the latest and breaking stories from Australia and around the world.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting