Victory chasing AFC women's silverware

Anna Harrington
Natasha Dowie will lead Melbourne Victory through the inaugural AFC Women's Club Championship

Melbourne Victory's W-League team will chase international silverware when they take on three of the best teams in Japan, South Korea and China in this week's inaugural AFC Women's Club Championship in South Korea.

But they'll have to do so without two of their international signings, with Victory confirming they can only field three international players in Yongin, as per AFC rules.

Captain Natasha Dowie (England) looks a certainty to feature, meaning coach Jeff Hopkins will have to pick two of Annalie Longo (NZ), Emily Menges, Darian Jenkins and Haley Hanson (all USA).

Victory have taken all of those players to South Korea regardless and will enter the three-game tournament with confidence after beating Brisbane Roar 3-2 in the W-League on Thursday.

As last season's premiers - topping the W-League table - Victory were invited to the round-robin tournament.

They will open their campaign on November 26 against South Korean side Incheon Hyundai Steel Red Angels - a club where Victory midfielder Amy Jackson previously plied her trade in 2016.

Ten of South Korea's 23-woman squad at the 2019 Women's World Cup were from the 2018 WK League champions.

Victory's second game of the tournament is against 2019 Chinese Women's Super League champions Jiangsu Suning, whose stars include China striker Yang Li, Malawi's Tabitha Chawinga and Ghana international Elizabeth Addo.

They will then round out the competition with a clash with Japanese side Nippon TV Beleza.

The 2018 Nadeshiko Divison 1 champions had nine players selected in Japan's 2019 Women's World Cup squad - underlining their quality - including veteran Mizuho Sakaguchi.

The team who finish on top of the group after the tournament will claim the title.

AFC WOMEN'S CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE

*November 26

Nippon TV Beleza v Jiangsu Suning (3.45pm KST, 5.45pm AEDT)

Melbourne Victory v Incheon Hyundai Steel Red Angels (7pm KST, 9pm AEDT)

*November 28

Jiangsu Suning v Melbourne Victory (3.45pm KST, 5.45pm AEDT)

Incheon Hyundai Steel Red Angels v Nippon TV Beleza (7pm KST, 9pm AEDT)

*November 30

Melbourne Victory v Nippon TV Beleza (12pm KST, 2pm AEDT)

Jiangsu Suning v Incheon Hyundai Steel Red Angels (3.15pm KST, 5.15pm AEDT)