U.S. Open Round 3 tee times: Ludvig Åberg takes solo lead at midway point at Pinehurst

Ludvig Åberg is playing in his first ever U.S. Open this week in North Carolina

We’ve reached the midway point of the third major championship of the year.

Ludvig Åberg held on to take the solo lead after his 1-under 69 on Friday at Pinehurst No. 2 in North Carolina. That moved him to 5-under halfway through the U.S. Open. He's competing in his first U.S. Open ever, and looking to be the first tournament rookie to pull off the win in more than 100 years.

Matthieu Pavon nearly joined Åberg at 5-under, too, but he bogeyed twice late to drop two shots back.

PINEHURST, NORTH CAROLINA - JUNE 14: Ludvig Aberg of Sweden waves on the 12th hole during the second round of the 124th U.S. Open at Pinehurst Resort on June 14, 2024 in Pinehurst, North Carolina. (Photo by Andrew Redington/Getty Images)
Ludvig Åberg is playing in his first U.S. Open this week in North Carolina. (Andrew Redington/Getty Images)

Though Åberg built up a lead, there’s plenty of big names still in the mix. Bryson DeChambeau is at 4-under on the week, which has him in line with Patrick Cantlay and Thomas Detry. Rory McIlroy, who hasn’t won a major in nearly a full decade now, is right behind them at 3-under alongside Pavon and Tony Finau.

Top-ranked Scottie Scheffler just barely made the cut to keep alive his streak dating back to 2022. He’s at 5-over, though, and is essentially out of it. Tiger Woods, on the other hand, narrowly missed the chance to play into the weekend.

Play will start just before 8:45 a.m. ET, while Åberg and DeChambeau will tee off around 3:30 p.m.

Here’s a look at the tee times for the third round of the U.S. Open:

All tee times ET

8:44 a.m. — Theegala, Fox

8:55 a.m. — Molinari, Koepka

9:06 a.m. — Greyserman, Fitzpatrick

9:17 a.m. — Burmester, Lower

9:28 a.m. — Wu, McKibbin

9:49 a.m. — Clanton (a), Todd

9:50 a.m. — Kohles, Lowry

10:01 a.m. — Young, Scheffler

10:12 a.m. — Fleetwood, Sigg

10:23 a.m. — Eckroat, Puig

10:39 a.m. — Morikawa, Bradley

10:50 a.m. — Poston, Clark

11:01 a.m. — Rai, Shipley (a)

11:12 a.m. — Si Woo Kim, Berger

11:23 a.m. — Kuchar, Smith

11:34 a.m. — Broin (a), Campbell

11:45 a.m. — Kaymer, Spieth

11:56 a.m. — English, Bezuidenhout

12:07 p.m. — Svensson, Hubbard

12:18 p.m. — Salinda, Thompson

12:29 p.m. — Min Woo Lee, Grillo

12:45 p.m. — McCarthy, Scott

12:56 p.m. — Kirk, Suber

1:07 p.m. — Straka, Harman

1:18 p.m. — Echavarria, Bennett

1:29 p.m. — Højgaard, Songheyon Kim

1:40 p.m. — Capan III, Pendrith

1:51 p.m. — Henley, Garcia

2:02 p.m. — Jaeger, Burns

2:13 p.m. — Blair, Horschel

2:24 p.m. — Widing, Conners

2:40 p.m. — Schauffele, Bhatia

2:51 p.m. — Tom Kim, Hatton

3:02 p.m. — Pavon, Matsuyama

3:13 p.m. — McIlroy, Finau

3:24 p.m. — Detry, Cantlay

3:35 p.m. — Åberg, DeChambeau