Trabzonspor's Turkish title after 38 years

Trabzonspor have won the Turkish soccer league title for the first time since 1984.

The team from the northern port city of Trabzon managed a 2-2 draw against Antalyaspor which was enough to seal the championship with three matches left to play.

They lead Fenerbahce by nine points but a better head-to-head record over the Istanbul side makes them champions.

It is only the second time since 1984 that an Istanbul club have not won the championship. It was Trabzonspor's seventh title overall.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting