Test bowling trio in NSW squad for final

·1-min read

NSW have included Test bowlers Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon in an enlarged 15-man squad for the Sheffield Shield final against Queensland.

The Blues will be without Steve Smith, David Warner, Pat Cummins, Moises Henriques and Adam Zampa for the final in Brisbane starting on Thursday.

But the defending champions will still boast plenty of talent in their XI at Allan Border Field.

Sean Abbott, who starred while returning from injury in NSW's one-day final win on Sunday, Trent Copeland, and Harry Conway will travel north on Tuesday.

Would-be debutant legspinner Tanveer Sangha, who impressed throughout the Big Bash League, and captain Peter Nevill have also been included in the Blues' big squad.

Nevill's availability hinges on the pending birth of his second child, with Kurtis Patterson set to skipper the visitors if the former Test wicketkeeper is unable to take part in the game.

Queensland have named a 12-man squad, recalling Jack Wildermuth after the allrounder missed their final regular-season clash because of the birth of his first child.

The Bulls earned hosting rights by finishing top of the table, having ended their Shield season with a rain-affected draw against NSW in Wollongong.

The regular season was trimmed to eight rounds amid concerns about player fatigue and border closures, having started in an Adelaide hub on October 10.