Aussies 'good enough' to win Fed Cup title

Captain Alicia Molik says her Australian team has what it takes to end the country's 44-year Fed Cup tennis title drought in the next two years.

Australia, headlined by Ashleigh Barty and Daria Gavrilova, take on Ukraine in a World Group II first round tie at the Canberra Tennis Centre on February 10 and 11.

Molik believes the quality in Australia's women's tennis has the team primed to get back in the top world group and break a title drought dating back to 1974.

Australia have not made a Fed Cup final since 1994.

"We want to be in the top eight nations in the world and if we win this then (another tie in) April will give us a chance to get back there," Molik said at a training session in Canberra on Monday.

"The calibre of players we have, Ash (Barty) is in the top 20, and Dash (Gavrilova) isn't too far away either.

Molik and Gavrilova. Image: Getty

"We should be winning this competition over the next couple of years, we're good enough to."

Even without 2011 US Open champion Samantha Stosur - who remains absent after struggling with injury last year - the hosts appear strong, with veteran Casey Dellacqua to play doubles alongside Barty.

Barty and Gavrilova are sure to get first crack in the singles on Saturday against a Ukraine team without world No.3 Elina Svitolina.

"My hope was they (Ukraine) would've been able to field their best team and that's why we chose grass too because we could genuinely beat them on grass if they fielded their strongest team," Molik said.

"That's a choice she's (Svitolina) made but I'm very thankful and grateful that we have players that love playing for their country.

"Fed Cup only comes around a couple of times a year and our players really value being together."

TV BROADCAST TIMES:

Saturday February 10

Sydney 11.00am LIVE 7mate
Melbourne 11.00am LIVE 7mate
Brisbane 10.00am LIVE 7mate
Adelaide 10.30am LIVE 7mate
Perth 8.00am LIVE 7TWO

Sunday February 11

Sydney 11.00am LIVE 7mate
Melbourne 11.00am LIVE 7mate
Brisbane 10.00am LIVE 7mate
Adelaide 10.30am LIVE 7mate
Perth 8.00am LIVE 7TWO

Back To Top
feedback