Advertisement

Taylor Swift's 'Cardigan' Preview Clip Released as App Store Exclusive

Taylor Swift fans who’ve been hankering to finally see her filmed performance of “Cardigan” won’t have to wait until her “Eras Tour (Taylor’s Version)” supercut premieres on Disney+ Friday evening. A portion of “Cardigan” is being made available as an exclusive clip on Apple’s App Store.

The “Cardigan” clip was given a late-night release on the Apple platform Wednesday morning at 3:01 a.m. ET/12:01 a.m. PT, ensuring that the 13th day of the month did not pass by without a fresh development.

More from Variety

Swifties can view the “Cardigan” clip either by firing up the App Store on their iPhones and looking under the Today tab or by following this link.

Alas, any belief that Apple would be premiering the full clip of the song was not to be, as it turned out to be just a 54-second snippet… but better than nothing, for fans who have been hungering for the filmed song ever since it was a surprise omission in the original theatrical version of the movie.

The full version is one of five songs added to the newly expanded, streaming edition of “The Eras Tour (Taylor’s Version)” that were not in previous cuts of the concert movie. This extended cut premieres on Disney+ Thursday at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET.

Besides “Cardigan,” the long cut coming out Thursday night will also include several acoustic songs that Swift played as surprises during the run of shows filmed at L.A.’s SoFi Stadium last August. She is sequentially announcing what those “secret” songs are on a morning-by-morning basis on “Good Morning America” this week. “Maroon” was the first of those numbers to be announced during a “GMA” spot on Tuesday.

Best of Variety