Sydney Supercars: Whincup fastest in second practice

Andrew van Leeuwen

For Whincup there was a stark contrast between the two sessions. Having not done a green tyre run in the first session, he bolted out of the gates on fresh rubber second time around, going quickest with a 1m29.084s on his first run.

That would have been good enough for second on its own, however another green tyre run at the end lowered his best to a 1m28.831, slightly under teammate Shane van Gisbergen's P1 benchmark.

Speaking after the session Whincup said it was a welcome return to the top of the timesheets after a difficult virtual campaign during the break.

"It's great to be back cutting laps," he said. "It's the first time in 12 weeks I haven't been a second and a half off the pace in practice, which is nice. 

"It's really quick, fast sessions here. Straight out of P1, you make a few changes, and then straight into P2. But overall, as far as car #88 is concerned, it feels good. 

"We did a little bit of a race run, it was reasonable, and the car is pretty good over a lap. Everyone will improve for qualifying, so we'll have to keep chipping away."

Read Also:

Sydney Supercars: Van Gisbergen tops first practice

For the second consecutive session Scott McLaughlin was second fastest, the gap to Whincup 0.15s, with van Gisbergen third.

Lee Holdsworth was best of the Tickford Fords in fourth, as Anton De Pasquale led the way for Erebus once again.

Nick Percat and Chaz Mostert were next, with Kelly Racing pair Andre Heimgartner and Rick Kelly split by Macauley Jones in positions eight to 10.

Second practice results:

Cla Driver Car Time Gap
1 Australia Jamie Whincup
Holden Commodore ZB 1'28.831
2 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin
Ford Mustang GT 1'28.989 0.157
3 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.016 0.185
4 Australia Lee Holdsworth
Ford Mustang GT 1'29.051 0.219
5 Australia Anton De Pasquale
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.070 0.238
6 Australia Nick Percat
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.081 0.250
7 Australia Chaz Mostert
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.272 0.441
8 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner
Ford Mustang GT 1'29.273 0.441
9 Australia Macauley Jones
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.313 0.481
10 Australia Rick Kelly
Ford Mustang GT 1'29.394 0.563
11 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard
Ford Mustang GT 1'29.405 0.574
12 Australia Cameron Waters
Ford Mustang GT 1'29.454 0.623
13 Australia Todd Hazelwood
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.499 0.668
14 Australia David Reynolds
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.531 0.700
15 Australia Jack Le Brocq
Ford Mustang GT 1'29.631 0.799
16 Australia Garry Jacobson
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.638 0.807
17 Australia James Courtney
Ford Mustang GT 1'29.650 0.818
18 Australia Bryce Fullwood
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.652 0.821
19 Australia Mark Winterbottom
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.793 0.962
20 Australia Scott Pye
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.804 0.972
21 Australia Alex Davison
Holden Commodore ZB 1'29.931 1.100
22 Australia Jack Smith
Holden Commodore ZB 1'30.102 1.271
23 New Zealand Chris Pither
Holden Commodore ZB 1'30.198 1.367
24 Australia Jake Kostecki
Holden Commodore ZB 1'30.576 1.745
View full results