Erebus' Brown caps dominant Supercars round in Tassie

·2-min read

Erebus' Will Brown has made it a weekend to remember in Tasmania, winning the third and final sprint at Symmons Plains to claim his second victory in as many days.

After winning a wild 42-lap race on Saturday, Brown backed it up on Sunday to win comfortably ahead of Red Bull Ampol young gun Broc Feeney for his third triumph of the season.

Brown's Coca Cola Racing teammate Brodie Kostecki, who started the round with a commanding advantage in the championship standings, came in third.

Kostecki remains atop the points table, 87 ahead of Brown.

"To get off the start line and get the lead like that and then have the pace we had was awesome," Brown said.

"To be sitting second in the championship, Brodie's first and the team leading the team's championship this many rounds in as well, it's obviously not a fluke."

After crashing out and failing to finish the opening race of the day in a major blow to his championship defence, Shane van Gisbergen was able to get his Camaro back out on the track just two hours later.

The 34-year-old New Zealander bounced back after some quick repair work from his engineers to grab fourth place. 

Van Gisbergen is also fourth in the championship standings, 172 points behind Kostecki.

Earlier, there were mixed emotions in the Triple Eight garage as Feeney won his third race of the season and fourth of his burgeoning career.

The 20-year-old started the 42-lap race from second, but was able to pip pole-sitter Kostecki (second) with a superb drive.

Feeney let out a "yeah boy" over the team radio once he took the chequered flag.

"We came charging through, we had ripper pace there. I'm getting a reputation as Mr Sunday at the moment," he said.

"The boys in the pit stops have been working so hard, they've been grinding out and it's paying off. Great strategy, but we had a fast car."

Brown finished third to round out the podium and give Erebus a 2-3 finish.


1. Broc Feeney (Red Bull Ampol)

2. Brodie Kostecki (Erebus)

3. Will Brown (Erebus)

4. Cam Waters (Tickford)

5. Will Davison (Shell V-Power)


1. Will Brown (Erebus)

2. Broc Feeney (Red Bull Ampol)

3. Brodie Kostecki (Erebus)

4. Shane van Gisbergen (Red Bull Ampol)

5. Jack Le Brocq (Truck Assist Racing)


1. Brodie Kostecki (Erebus) 986 pts

2. Will Brown (Erebus) 899

3. Chaz Mostert (Walkinshaw Andretti United) 820

4. Shane van Gisbergen (Red Bull Ampol) 814

5. Broc Feeney (Red Bull Ampol) 795