Sri Lanka wins toss, in first ODI v India

Sri Lanka have won the toss and opted to bowl in the first ODI against hosts India in Guwahati.

This is a three-match series following on from the three-match T20 contest between the two teams. India won the T20 series 2-1.

Skipper Rohit Sharma makes a return to the Indian team after recovering from a finger injury sustained last month. Star batsman and former captain Virat Kohli also returns to the side. Both players missed the T20 series.

Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah is out as he recovers from a back injury.

Ishan Kishan has been surprisingly left out from the Indian eleven. The opening batsman scored a record 210 in the last ODI India played against Bangladesh.

Shubman Gill will open the innings with Rohit Sharma. Left-handed opener Shikhar Dhawan has been dropped owing to poor form.

Fast bowler Mohammed Shami also returns to the Indian ODI side after being away since July.

Sri Lanka left-arm medium pacer Dilshan Madushanka will make his debut.

The pitch at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati should aid batsmen and could produce a high scoring game.Teams:

India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Umran Malik, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Avishka Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka.