Soccer's second-tier attracts 32 interested clubs

Thirty-two soccer clubs from eight states and territories want to be part of the national second-tier competition.

Only the Northern Territory wasn't represented among the 32 clubs to formally lodge expressions of interest with Football Australia (FA) to join the proposed second-tier league.

The league is slated to start in March next year and feature 10 to 16 teams.

FA hierarchy will now assess the expressions of interest to create a short-list of contenders.

By June, short-listed clubs will be asked to then submit detailed proposals including formal bid documents, FA chief executive James Johnson said.

"We knew there would be great interest and we are thrilled with the ... calibre of clubs which have expressed their interest," Johnson said in a statement on Monday.

"It is also pleasing to see that we have received submissions from right across Australia, demonstrating that our football clubs have a deep desire and aspiration to compete at a national level.

"Australian football has undergone a journey of transformation over the last two years and the establishment of a national second tier which reconnects and realigns Australian football competitions is an important element of Football Australia's 15-year vision for the game.

"The receipt of EOI submissions is another crucial step in bringing our vision for the game to life."


ACT: Canberra Croatia FC, Gungahlin United FC.

NSW: APIA Leichhardt FC, Blacktown City FC, Fraser Park FC, Marconi Stallions FC, Rockdale Ilinden FC, Sutherland Sharks FC/Cronulla Sharks, Sydney Olympic FC, Sydney United 58 FC, Wollongong Wolves FC, Valentine FC.

Queensland: Brisbane City FC, Brisbane United FC (Wynnum Wolves FC, Brisbane Strikers FC, Virginia United FC), Gold Coast Knights FC, Gold Coast United FC, Olympic FC, Peninsula Power FC, Sunshine Coast FC Fire.

South Australia: Adelaide City FC, Football SA (Campbelltown City SC, North Eastern MetroStars, West Torrens Birkalla SC), Playford City Soccer and Community Club.

Tasmania: South Hobart FC.

Victoria: Avondale FC, Bentleigh Greens SC, Brunswick Juventus FC, Green Gully SC, Heidelberg United FC, Melbourne Knights FC, Preston Lions FC, South Melbourne FC.

Western Australia: Spearwood Dalmatinac/Cockburn City SC.