Snubbed stars win bittersweet Aussie cricket awards

They’re still being forced to send messages to Australian selectors but Matthew Wade and Glenn Maxwell have been recognised for their performances at the cricket awards night on Monday.

Wade was named men’s domestic player of the year for his stellar performances with the bat in both the Sheffield Shield and one-day cup.

The former Test wicketkeeper won the player-voted award for his batting from December 8, 2017 to December 11, 2018, meaning his exceptional form in this summer’s Big Bash was technically not relevant.

IN PICTURES: Aussie cricket stars hit the black carpet

But the 31-year-old’s Shield-high 571 runs so far this season no doubt played its part.

He scored one hundred and five fifties in the six matches played before the competition was halted for the Big Bash.

Yet he remains on the outer on the international scene even as Australia searched for quality to replace Steve Smith and David Warner.

Meanwhile, Maxwell dreams of pulling on the baggy green in Australia but for now he remains the nation’s pre-eminent T20 player.

The Victorian was named the men’s T20 International player of the year for the second time, having first won it in 2015.

He edged D’Arcy Short by three votes, with Andrew Tye one further vote behind.

Maxwell scored 506 runs in the voting period and took nine wickets from 17 overs bowled.

Matthew Wade and Glenn Maxwell have been recognised at the Australian cricket awards. Pic: Getty

Banned batsman polls votes for infamous Test

In an awkward result for Australian cricket, Cameron Bancroft polled three votes for his performance with the bat in the Test that may have ended his international career.

As Cricket Australia ran through the awards towards the Allan Border Medal at the sport’s night of nights in Melbourne, Nathan Lyon was named the men’s Test player of the year for his incredible 2017 campaign.

While the spinner was recognised for his efforts with the ball, an odd scene played out in the background with the three batsmen involved in the Cape Town ball-tampering saga.

Steve Smith and David Warner polled just two votes and one vote respectively for their showings in the January 9, 2018 to January 7, 2019 period.

Bancroft, meanwhile, polled three votes.

All were for his impact with the bat in the infamous Cape Town Test match against South Africa.

Cameron Bancroft polled three votes in CA’s Test Player of the Year award, more than Steve Smith and David Warner for the period. Pic: Getty

While it will be remembered that Bancroft used sandpaper on the ball and lied to the media with Smith about Warner’s involvement, the opener top-scored in Australia’s first innings with 77 runs.

However, all six votes earned by the three players were for nought – Bancroft, Warner and Smith were all ineligible after being suspended by Cricket Australia.

with AAP