Smith, Lee in line for Greg Norman Medal

Judges face the nigh-on impossible task of trying to separate Cameron Smith and Minjee Lee as Australian golfer of the year.

So they probably won't, leaving Smith and Lee likely to be crowned joint winners of the Greg Norman Medal on Tuesday night.

Both superstars enjoyed phenomenal seasons in 2022, each claiming landmark majors in multiple-win campaigns and each climbing to world No.2 with opportunities to snare the top ranking.

Running down crown favourite and now world No.1 Rory McIlroy to win the 150th Open Championship at St Andrews in July was the undoubted highlight of Smith's season.

But becoming Australia's first British Open champion since Norman in 1993 was merely the icing on the cake for the Shark's 29-year-old fellow Queenslander.

Smith also captured the PGA Tour's prestigious Tournament of Champions in January in record fashion, took out the Players Championship - golf's so-called fifth major - in March, finished third at the Masters and won LIV Chicago in September after after joining Norman's new Saudi-backed tour.

Back home for this week's Australian PGA Championship at Royal Queensland and the Australian Open in Melbourne from December 1-4, Smith said he'd love to cap off his year with a second Greg Norman Medal after bagging the award in 2020.

"Winning four times is something I never thought would happen at the start of the year," he said.

"Last off-season I worked my butt off and did all the right things. It started off in Hawaii as a great year and kept getting better so I think (winning the medal) would be massive."

Lee would also be a hugely deserving recipient for a third time, having been named Greg Norman Medallist in 2018 and 2021.

The 26-year-old earned her second career major in 13 months with a storming four-shot victory at the US Open in June.

The West Australian also finished joint runner-up at the US PGA Championship and equal fourth at the Women's British Open to win the Annika Major Award as women's golf's major player of the year.

She pocketed a second seven-digit cheque for the year as the winner of the $US1 million ($A1.5m) AON Risk Reward Challenge, finished second on the LPGA Tour money list and also runner-up behind New Zealand's Lydia Ko for player-of-the-year honours.

Like Smith, Lee will round out her stellar season at the historic mixed-gender Australian Open - the world's first national championship featuring both men and women - being co-hosted by the Victoria and Kingston Heath golf clubs.

Sharing the Greg Norman Medal would be a fitting reward almost a decade after Smith and Lee won the respective Australian men's and women's amateur championships in 2013 before forging truly great professional careers.