Slater confirmed new Qld Maroons skipper

Laine Clark and Vince Rugari
Billy Slater has been named as Queensland Maroons captain for his last-ever State of Origin match

Billy Slater has been confirmed as Queensland captain for his final State of Origin match in next Wednesday's dead rubber in Brisbane.

Veteran fullback Slater replaces Greg Inglis (broken thumb) as skipper with coach Kevin Walters forced into a number of changes due to injuries.

Queensland: Billy Slater (c), Valentine Holmes, Dane Gagai, Will Chambers, Corey Oates, Cameron Munster, Daly Cherry-Evans, Jai Arrow, Andrew McCullough, Josh Papalii, Gavin Cooper, Felise Kaufusi, Josh McGuire. Interchange: Ben Hunt, Jarrod Wallace, Coen Hess, Tim Glasby. 18th man: Dylan Napa