Scott McLaughlin re-writes Supercars history with insane feat

Scott McLaughlin has re-written the Supercars history books on Phillip Island, winning an eighth-straight pole position.

The Kiwi qualifying maestro lowered his own time from Saturday’s race, scorching the field for his 10th overall pole at his favourite circuit.

McLaughlin’s 1:29.5422 lap was six-tenths of a second faster than teammate Fabian Coutlhard, who joined him on the front row.

“The car was just as good as yesterday but the wind changed which made the track a little bit slower,” he said.

“Whenever you have a track you enjoy it’s easier to execute.

“The last three years I’ve had a car I’ve gotten everything out of.

“I just can’t wait for the race.”

Scott McLaughlin celebrates another pole. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

McLaughlin’s run of eight pole positions on Phillip Island is remarkable; no driver has more than five-straight poles at any other circuit.

Chaz Mostert was third fastest, with Anton De Pasquale the best Holden driver in fourth.

Cam Waters and Will Davison start from the third row, making it five Mustangs among the top six.

The Red Bull HRT Commodores improved their efforts from Saturday and from practice, when both bombed to be outside of the top 10.

Scott McLaughlin in action. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images)

Jamie Whincup reported a much-improved set-up and landed 10th, while Shane van Gisbergen was seventh.

“It’s a big improvement on yesterday,” Whincup said.

“I’m not high-fiving everyone, I’m P10 and getting dusted by the teammate, but we’re improving.”

The Nissans fell off the pace after Andre Heimgartner won the Altima’s first podium of the year on Saturday.

Rick Kelly was the fastest for Nissan and will start 11th.

with AAP