Sam Kerr retains England's footballer of year award

·1-min read

Australia and Chelsea scoring sensation Sam Kerr has won the prestigious Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year award in England for a second successive season.

Another prolific goal-grabber, Manchester City forward Erling Haaland, won the men's vote.

Kerr, 29,  has scored 26 goals in 34 club appearances this season as her club side Chelsea, currently second in the Women's Super League table, reached the FA Cup final and also the semi-finals of the Champions League.

Aston Villa's Rachel Daly and Kerr's Chelsea teammate Lauren James completed the top three.

The 22-year-old Haaland has enjoyed a superb first season with City, scoring 51 goals in all competitions to help Pep Guardiola's side top the Premier League and reach the FA Cup final as well as the semi-finals of the Champions League.

The Norway international received 82 per cent of the FWA vote, ahead of Arsenal pair Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard.

Kerr and Haaland will receive their awards at the FWA Footballer of the Year 75th anniversary dinner in London on May 25.