Rafael Nadal leads Australian Open 2020 men's seeds as Dan Evans gets first Grand Slam seeding

Getty Images

World number one Rafael Nadal has been handed the top seed ahead of the Australian Open.

The 33-year-old enjoyed a phenomenal season in 2019, where he won the French Open and US Open, as well as reaching the final in Melbourne last year.

The Spaniard leapfrogged Novak Djokovic in the world rankings after his performance at the ATP Finals in London in November and begins 2020 at the top of the pile.

Djokovic, on the back of his ATP Cup final triumph over Nadal, heads into the tournament as second seed while Roger Federer is third.

Daniil Medvedev's breakthrough season ensures he is the best of the rest as the no.4 seed, Dominic Thiem is ranked fifth and ATP Finals champion Stefanos Tsitispas in sixth.

Rising: Dan Evans has secured his first Grand Slam seeding at the Australian Open Photo: Reuters

Among the Britons represented, Dan Evans has received his first-ever Grand Slam seeding in 30th after usurping Kyle Edmund as British number one.

But there is no room for Edmund, 25, who has dropped out after a disappointing season on the tour where he failed to get past the second round of any Major.

The players will discover their opponents when the draw is made on Thursday in Melbourne.

Australian Open men's singles seeds in full:

1. Rafael Nadal (ESP)

2. Novak Djokovic (SRB)

3. Roger Federer (SWI)

4. Daniil Medvedev (RUS)

5. Dominic Thiem (AUT)

6. Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE)

7. Alexander Zverev (GER)

8. Matteo Berrettini (ITA)

9. Roberto Bautista Agut (ESP)

10. Gael Monfils (FRA)

11. David Goffin (BEL)

12. Fabio Fognini (ITA)

13. Denis Shapovalov (CAN)

14. Diego Schwartzman (ARG)

15. Stan Wawrinka (SWI)

16. Karen Khachanov (RUS)

17. Grigor Dimitrov (BUL)

18. Andrey Rublev (RUS)

19. John Isner (USA)

20. Alex De Minaur (AUS)

21. Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN)

22. Benoit Paire (FRA)

23. Guido Pella (ARG)

24. Nick Kyrgios (AUS)

25. Dusan Lajovic (SRB)

26. Nikoloz Basilashvili (GEO)

27. Borna Coric (CRO)

28. Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP)

29. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)

30. Dan Evans (GBR)

31. Taylor Fritz (USA)

32. Hubert Hurkacz (POL)

Read more

Poor air quality caused by wildfires mars Australian Open qualifying

Australian Open 2020: All you need to know