Liverpool fans are in a rage and believing conspiracy theories after footage emerged of a linesman appearing to fist pump when Tottenham were awarded a late penalty.
Liverpool manager Juergen Klopp was fuming at the decision that saw Harry Kane step up and score with the penalty in the 95th minute of the game, ending in a 2-2 draw.
Referee Jon Moss pointed to the spot after consulting his linesman, who had seen a foul by Virgil van Dijk on Erik Lamela, and Harry Kane converted to score his 100th Premier League goal and snatch a point for his side.
The spot-kick was Tottenham's second of the match after Kane was adjudged to have been fouled in the 83rd minute. Replays showed the striker to be in an offside position when he received the ball, but the linesman's flag stayed down, ruling that the pass into Kane had come off Dejan Lovren.
Did he just celebrate giving a pen? 😂😂😂 pic.twitter.com/fGQpY3xOV6— Paul Lloyd (@Lloydy_lfc_2018) February 4, 2018
"The softest touch in the whole game decides the game," Klopp said. "It is not a penalty.
"Lamela ran into Van Dijk, he sees him at the last moment, Lamela is already on the way down. Referee says keep on going, the linesman makes a decision, that's how it is.
"It was obviously not his (the linesman's) day. The first penalty was one of the clearest offside decisions I saw. I don't know if there is a new rule. When the ball left the foot of the Tottenham player, Harry Kane is offside. It is good defending to play him offside.
Klopp said Lovren had not played a pass but merely touched the ball.
"If I would say what I think, I would pay the biggest fine in world football. I have no problem with making mistakes, but it is offside," the German added.
Liverpool fans took to social media to voice their anger at the decision.
How can you celebrate something like that? Moss asked him, he answered. Moss took a decision on what the linesman said. Is this a reason to celebrate? Then I'm sorry for him. That shows how stupid he is. https://t.co/EAZRNdNaL9— J🃏 (@JmasNews) February 4, 2018
Great assist by the ref and linesman. And he still has the gall to celebrate.— Rob Jones (@SonicSoupRob) February 4, 2018
Linesman celebrated for that penalty... I never saw like that before... Your the whole organisation too should celebrate with him... 👏👏👏— Kay (@SilanceKay) February 4, 2018
Just seen the vid of the linesman celebrating his decision in front of the kop.— Pundit Jay Ⓜ (@punditjay) February 4, 2018
Im dead 😂😂😂